onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now I'll have time to eat all those chocolate mousses that have been playing on my mind.

On Friday I got made redundant.

It was the happiest day of my life! I�d never felt quite so miserable, underappreciated, demotivated and utterly hopeless in a job before, redundancy could not have come sooner. I wish I could�ve enjoyed the experience a bit more though; we were told there was a new owner, there would be redundancies, and then a few pitiful glances later I was in the pub. I wasn�t the only one, and I can safely say that none of us chosen few were sad about leaving. I went in to sort a few things out this afternoon and when I finally left I turned around to see the building drift from my sight and all I could think was, �it�s over!� No more crying, no more humiliation and no more being treated like a half-wit. I can be happy again. I can be me!

Tomorrow I will be resuming my tour of the UK's job centres when I ring them for an interview. This will be job centre number three I�ve been to - Nottingham, Hertfordshire and now London. I�m going to try and break America soon.

I do have a few concerns though. For example, I�m worried that my new life of physical freedom yet a monetary crippling, may lead to a slow decent into obesity from not really needing to leave my room, and the bigger concern of a sudden partiality towards velour clothing. I have to admit that sometimes I�m quite fond of some comfy jogging bottoms when I�m in the house but I think I have to start keeping and eye on that now, as I may unknowingly start going to the shops in them � or worse, going to the shops in my pyjamas.

I�m also a bit worried that my entries will end up being a bit like this, which is an entry I just found and luckily didn�t subject anyone to, back when I was unemployed in 2008:

�My computer�s really slow at the moment, and I think it�s because I tried to download something to make it think it�s a Nintendo. But talking of slow, this morning I went to the slowest self checkout machine in the country. It was in Tesco, Colindale, and it was an absolute chore.�

That�s all I wrote, I obviously had no more inspiration than that. I hope I find something fulfilling before I get to that point again.

It appears that a career in TV isn�t quite as easy as it is on TV. My friend Vicki has a High School Musical game on the Wii and you can take a test on it to see what your job should be. We spent a lot of time doing this when she visited last. Vicki ended up as a chef, and I was a golf caddy. It was almost as accurate as Kudos, the computer programme we used at school to determine what job we�re best suited for. After a series of dreary questions it would tell you exactly what career you�re destined for. I always got the result of librarian, and occasionally an x-ray technician.

To be quite frank, it mainly depended on what your answer was on whether you enjoyed working outside. Some days when the sun was streaming in through the window and working outdoors didn�t seem quite so bad, I�d answer yes, and that would throw up all sorts of new life prospects! Considering all of my answers and now you chuck in that I actually like being outside, I�d be told to work towards becoming a Marine Biologist, something I�d never in my young life considered, even when we were doing projects on whales. And then, quite a few times, Kudos also informed me that my life�s goal was to become one of those people that check the Ph balance of soil.

I didn't even know that was a job! No wonder I've always been confused.

11:04 p.m. - 2010-04-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow