onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An extremely belated yearly review: 2009 (written in January and recently found)

1. What did you do in 2009 that you'd never done before? Interview at red carpet events and film junkets.

2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year? Last year I aimed to cut out having sugar in my tea and failed miserably. I also aimed to eat in a more orderly fashion which I fell down on as well, so they�re more than enough to contend with again in 2010.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Yes. Sal, to baby Felicity.

4. Did anyone close to you die? No.

5. What countries did you visit? America � New York!

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009? A good job. Job-wise, this year has been miserable. I�d also like to have a member of McFly.

7. What date from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? June 2nd, interviewing at the Glamour awards.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Doing lots of things I was scared of.

9. What was your biggest failure? A few relationships and work.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Only the usual minor hair straightener burns.

11. What was the best thing you bought? Lots of books.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration? My family�s, my friend Janine and Jonny, as they kept me sane.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed? People at work and the usual male species.

14. Where did most of your money go? In the estate agent�s pocket and on rent. I also ate a lot of M&S �10 meals for 2 � the true vision of being single is when half your meal for two is sitting in your fridge ready for your dinner the next day.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? New York. A man who shall remain nameless. And another man, come to think of it.

16. What song will always remind you of 2009? Free Fallin � the John Mayer version.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder? Much sadder.
ii. thinner or fatter? Fatter. I�m probably a proper heifer compared to last year!
iii. richer or poorer? Much, much, much, much poorer.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of? Praying and standing up for myself at work.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of? Worrying, crying and telling boys I felt like they were going to phase me out, only for them to subsequently leave me.

20. How will you be spending Christmas? I spent it at home eating trifle.

21. How will you be spending New Years? I spent it at home trying to finish off my 3 year old bottle of Frangelino and shouting at Chris Tarrant on the Who Wants To Be A Millionare game.

22. Did you fall in love in 2009? I don�t know. No, probably not.

23. How many one-night stands? None.

24. What was your favourite TV programme? Gavin & Stacey again, and Criminal Minds.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year? I could never hate anyone, but I have come close to feeling it for a certain person. The girl off the Wrigley�s chewing gum ad is off the hook this time.

26. What was the best book you read? Join Me by Danny Wallace. I�ve never been happier reading a book, I could�ve burst.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery? I have no idea.

28. What did you want and get? I suppose some sort of exciting relationships, even though they ended in crap.

29. What did you want and not get? A job that doesn�t make me want to hurl myself under a bus.

30. What was your favourite film of this year? He�s Just Not That Into You. Surprisingly.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? 24. Went to work. Cried. Went out for a drink with Gemma, she asked if she could have back the fiver I owed her rendering me penniless, so we had to go home.

32. What one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? I job I liked.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009? Flowery.

34. What kept you sane? My family, friends, reading, faith and eventually Jonny, when he turned up.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? I�ll have to whisper this... I secretly fancied James Corden.

36. What political issue stirred you the most? Don�t know, really.

37. Who/what did you miss? My grandparents; my family and friends at home; my God Son Jack. Home.

38. Who was the best new person you met? Jonny.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009. I�m stronger than I thought. Going blonde wasn�t such a good idea after all.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

I must go on standing
You can�t break that which isn�t yours
I must go on standing
I�m not my own, it�s not my choice.
- Regina Spektor, Apres Moi

Most difficult year ever.

10:50 p.m. - 2010-04-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow