onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

... and that's shallot!

I've eaten too much shortbread. On paper that seems like no big deal, but sitting here on my sofa I'm in turmoil.

Anyway, sidestepping the shortbread biscuits, my strawberry plants from the 99p store are sprouting nicely. I�ve started getting into gardening lately, even though in the past I have had a hard time maintaining a pot of basil. Today, encouraged by the confidence I�d gained from the strawberries, I bought some seeds to grow my own salad vegetables and 3 different types of beetroot from Poundland and I�m pretty excited about the whole thing. All being well, by summertime I'll have a garden worth about �3.99 and very purple wee.

Keith and I are having a cheap month, hence the trip to Poundland, as March was unexpectedly expensive - so we've started doing the kind of shopping that is both depressing and exhilarating at the same time; badly lit bargain shops without a license to play real music, and most of the products are covered in dust. But despite all this, you can't beat the thrill of �2 meats. A few years ago when I was in Lidl a man just wandered around shouting, �crumbs!� at the top of his voice, and you can bet your life that you wouldn�t get that in Waitrose - that�s the kind of unpredictability I like when it comes to my weekly shop.

So after our round trip of pound lands, worlds and kingdoms this morning, Keith and I treated ourselves to a lunch of �bits� (things on bread) when we got home, a film about baseball that we only vaguely followed but thoroughly enjoyed, and then our separate activities of the Xbox (Keith) and googling �Jessica Simpson pregnant� (me).

Anyway, Keith�s just caught me looking at a website for the National Vegetable Society, so this is getting serious. My dad will be so proud!

12:50 p.m. - 2012-04-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow