onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hats + overalls = instant sex appeal

Take it in, it's the last time you'll see me like this. Appealing, no? Though saying that, I did bag Dominic in this get-up...

I finally finished my stint at Thorntons on Friday - the �stint� which was only meant to last for three months but lasted for seven. And alas, I�ve hung up my overalls and blue hairnet for good.

So I�m half relieved and half not. I�m actually going to miss that place; I met some good people and despite the occasional bouts of utter scratch-your-eyes-out boredom, I�ve had some fun times and laughed a lot. And I�ve talked. And talked and talked and talked. I don�t think I�ve talked so much in my life, and about some of the most serious subjects and some of my most mundane; I can speak as enthusiastically about lip balm as I can about world peace; and I can become just as enthralled in a conversation about a trip to Home Bargains, as one pondering the meaning of life.

Once I could see Kate was in a really enthusiastic conversation with a woman she was packing Easter Eggs with. I thought �I want to get in on this!� as I was quite bored on my job �blobbing� (technical term) chocolate and a bit jealous that she was in such an enjoyable conversation whilst I was standing on my own, humming. So I went over to ask what she was talking about with such fervour.

�You look like you�re having a good time! What are you talking about?�

Kate beamed at me: �Moisturiser!�.

What.

Moisturiser? Only moisturiser?

I was a tad disappointed but joined in anyway; brought up that I was going to get some with a hint of self tan.

So I�m kind of going to miss all of that; but more than anything I�ll miss the friends I made and possibly sitting around the table in the canteen, studying what everyone else is consuming. I�ll definitely miss Rainer getting random fruit corner yoghurts and packets of crisps out of her bag, for those unfortunate enough not to have bought salty snacks or dessert - usually a delighted Kate, who is still very much the spendthrift despite the regular income.

And I will really miss my friend Emma, who is the person I have taken to talking to about almost anything in the world, but we mainly stick to lip balm and men. I developed a kind of rapport with her which was along the lines of trying to wrestle each other to the ground whenever we could, or sometimes we just gave each other piggy backs around the place.

In this photo, Emma�s trying her favoured approach of lifting one of my legs up and tipping me off balance.

And a slightly different approach attempted by me, whereby I lean all of my body weight onto Emma in an effort to slowly force her to the ground.

No one usually wins these wrestling matches, by the way. We�re as weak as each other and only fall over if one of us gives up and the other is leaning on her.

But in other news, I had the worst ever driving lesson last week. And I know that the reason it was so rubbish was completely due to the fact that I woke up from my nap two minutes before getting into my instructors car; and I was still rubbing my eyes as he told me to turn the keys in the ignition. So that wasn�t a good start.

Consequently, I was still in my �getting up� phase for the first twenty minutes of my lesson, which in normal circumstances is usually spent staring vacantly into space in front of my radiator, but was instead spent staring vacantly at the road and attempting an appalling reverse park. I really didn�t trust myself to do anything and at one point I was waiting at a roundabout for about a year, I signalled to go left, then sped off to the right like a moron, and had to turn around in the Carpet World car park. I have no brains. I told my instructor to take over and drive me home, but he ignored me.

I�m still continuing with my walking as judging from my disaster of a driving lesson, that looks like be how I'll always be getting around.

I snuck off on Friday afternoon to have a march round before anyone could join me; listening to some music and generally enjoying the ache of my legs as they struggle to come to terms with my new hobby. I stood in some dog poo though; which completely ruined my mood and took ages to scrape off.

And then, as if I wasn�t already a little bit embarrassed due to smelling of fresh crap and all, I walked past some people I vaguely recognised. Down to my earphones skewing my judgement on what is the sensible volume of a greeting, I shouted, �HELLO� which shocked the poor people - not only because of my loudness; but also due to the fact that I was still dragging my right foot.

Classy!

And as today was my first day of real (week day) freedom, I went on two walks because I didn't really know what to do with myself. Brisk walking doesn't half make your nose run.

10:20 p.m. - 2007-03-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow