onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Aaah, a guilt free entry. It feels so good.

Hasn�t it been a long time?

I�ve felt pretty guilty about not updating for so long, I was hoping I could keep it up but then my dissertation deadline was looming closer and closer and I couldn�t manage writing both that and this. What a lame excuse.

Since my last entry I have had my interview with Donal MacIntyre � I decided to go the way of the Dictaphone as my minidisk recorder seems to be cursed. I was scared that the Dictaphone was another piece of technology I could misuse and consequently curse, but it went well. Thank goodness.

After several thousand cups of tea, naps, cheese slices on toast and Jaffa cakes, I bounded my dissertation and proudly handed it in on March 31st. It�s funny how you can start to hate a piece of work but then when it becomes a thick-paged, shiny new book you become confident that it is actually bursting with greatness and will generate a first degree just because it looks so good.

I don�t want to talk about the night out we had after handing in the dissertations though, because it ended up being rubbish.

Ok, well I�ll skim over it:

Tim had a party, which was brilliant, but I think we all should�ve stayed there instead of going into town because that�s when it went rubbishy. I ended up arguing with my friend, it rained (frizzy hair syndrome), people were feeling let down that our group of friends were all split up at different places, Tim lost his phone and went home and I phoned him and ended up talking to a chav who wanted me to meet him at McDonalds to get his phone back, �at a price�.

Since then I moped around Tim�s flat with an ill Tim who needed 24 hour supervision as his illness seemed to make him incapable of moving from the sofa, getting some tissues or making himself a hot chocolate. Inevitably, I got ill as well, but decided to battle through to show Tim that I�m stronger than him. It worked for a while, but as Tim was getting better and I was getting worse with various, seemingly unconnected ailments, I had to succumb to letting Tim nurse me back to good health and assail me with cups of tea and hot water bottles. I spent about 2 days with a Vicks nasal inhaler stuck up my right nostril.

When I came home for Easter I was so used to the inhaler, I sat and watched Enduring Love with it stuck up my nose, forgetting that it is not appropriate to have plastic dangling from your nostrils in company. Mark, who was visiting said, �oh, have you got a cold?�

�No, not really. I just like it and it smells nice. I shouldn�t really be sticking it up my nose in front of you, sorry. I forgot you were here. Do you want to try it?�

I�m such a pusher. Mark sniffed it and said it was nice. He is a lovely boy.

So yes, as you�ll gather, I am home for a while over the Easter holiday. I managed to completely ruin my first 2 days at home though as on the first night we went to Jessica�s new flat to visit her, Kev and baby Jack, and I picked Jack up and pulled something in my back. It was excruciating and to make it worse, no one really believed that it was that bad. Not until my mum heard me yelping in the middle of the night and then it took her an hour to get my to lie down again because, in a nutshell, I couldn�t. It was like my hernia operation all over again, anything I did made me cry in pain. Crying made it hurt more, resulting in more crying and a vicious circle emerged.

I�m better now though. I read my book in bed and had a giant nap and it did the trick. And speaking of books, I have just finished The Time Traveler�s Wife. I have never cried so much about a book, ever. I had to keep putting the book down because I couldn�t read through the tears. And that surprised me. It surprised me because I�d been telling everyone what I drag it was reading that book, but I couldn�t stop reading it as a) my friend thought it was amazing and wanted me to read it, and b) that would mean defeat.

So I finished it last night and realised how much I loved it. And how lost I felt when I finished reading the last page. So I sulked around the house this morning saying �I don�t know what to do without that book!� and �I cried so much, it was brilliant!�

My plan for today is to overcome my grief at finishing that book (hopefully I can get on with my life, though it�s too soon to crack open another book; it�d just feel like betrayal) and to aim to do a little bit of revision. I have almost forgotten what revising feels like. Though I say almost; I still know it feels crap.

1:11 p.m. - 2006-04-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow