onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Rug

I'm home for Easter :)

And I did the stupidest thing today.

My dad has completely taken over my room and made it into his office. I have a photocopier, scanner, fax machine and tonnes of files all over my room so I have to go and do my stuff somewhere else now. Stuff like sleeping, if I don't want to be woken up at 9 o clock every morning by my dad switching a hundred machines on and talking on the phone.

So today, as I was finally well enough to leave the house and do something, I decided to try and make myself look decent and straighten my hair. So I had to do this downstairs instead of in my room like a normal person. So I straightened my hair in front of the TV, and god...I really am stupid. I kept putting my straighteners down on the big rug in the front room and now there are about a million V shaped burns all over the place where I let them just sit there and burn the rug to pieces while I watched the TV or brushed my hair. I only noticed what I was doing when I put the straighteners down to burn the fifty millionth V into the rug and Kate started going, "oh my god! oooh, Emma I can't believe you, you're so stupid! Mum's gonna kill you!". What an idiot. We started scrubbing at the burns with my hairbrush and Kate seemed to think picking at it with a fork would be helpful, which it wasn't. And I tried cutting at it with scissors, which was also rubbish.

Anyway, my dad went a bit mental for about 5 minutes and saying stuff like, "wasn't ruining the piano stool enough for you?". Then he realised that he was still a parent and role model didn't want to instil the 'F word' into his children's minds, or any kind of insecurity, so started acting like a parenting manual, going, "you're not stupid, you just did and stupid thing" and "do you know what unconditional love is?". Which I actually like. And he was all nice to me and comforting and I felt all special :) I love my dad.

Luckily my mum was at work while I ruined her carpet, so as a sorry present I bought her some very nice little bowls from Ikea when I was out. She was already home when I got in and hadn't been in the living room yet, so my wonderful dad told her that "Emma had a little accident with the hair straighteners today" and to not be too hard on me. And she wasn't! Miraculous! She was going to buy another rug anyway, and my punishment is just that I've got to do all the tidying and cleaning she asks, which I don't mind cuz I do that anyway. Well, sometimes.

But I was so worried all day. I never thought that anything to do with a rug could be so scary!

8:10 p.m. - 2004-04-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow