onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Commentary: I wrote this because it amused me.

I liked today. In the morning I laid out on the school field with Michelle and Kate, learning Language Acquisition for the exam in the afternoon and getting a sun tan at the same time.

The exam was pretty good. In the first question we had to re-write a passage as an article in a tabloid newspaper. I totally went to town on that, setting it out in columns and drawing boxes for photos. I even separated parts of the story by writing single words like, "caught" and "relief" in bold and underlined, like they do in real papers. For some reason I found it hilarious and spent half of the exam simply laughing at myself, making myself incapable of holding my pen.

The article was about someone who got mugged for some diamonds he was carrying. I changed the title to "DIAMONDS ARE A THIEF'S BEST FRIEND" and wrote things like, "Mr Brahach, 42, who has 3 pet dogs, says...", "Branach, a regular at the Pitch 'n' Put, explains how he got away..." and "Joe, 35, who enjoys the occasional swim, described the scene as a 'struggle'". I drew some good pictures of "Mr Branach with his diamonds, at home" and "Joe's smashed up face", all emotive stuff you see. It seemed so funny at the time. Looks kind of stupid now.

It was obvious that Mrs Dams, who was moderating the exam, had absolutely no idea why I was laughing to myself. She must have thought some kind of conspiracy was going on because I could hear Kate laughing at her efforts behind me, throughout.

We had to comment on what we'd written after we'd written it. It went down hill from then on.

9:29 p.m. - 2003-06-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow