onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my dad's a shopaholic

We've got a new pc. Yay!

I wasn't so pleased when dad woke me from my midday nap to declare it though. I sat up and went, "oooooh, mum's gonna kill you!" because only last week she'd told him to stop spending so much money because every time he went out of the house he'd return with at least 3 shopping bags.

Actually, he bought home the new pc AND 3 shopping bags today....I'm surprised we're not all dressed in rags and chewing on mouldy bread crusts by now.

When my mum came home I tried to lighten the blow by telling her I'd changed the toilet roll in the bathroom and not just left the empty cardboard tube on the toilet roll holder (toilet roll changing is a huge problem in our house). So she was in a good enough mood for dad to tell her about the pc and she wouldn't be too upset.

So dad told her and she went mad. Though not as mad as we expected, but mad enough. I tried to console her by telling her that Katie and I don't need winter coats this year because we're in Sixth Form and Sixth Formers don't venture outside in cold weather, so she'd save at least �100. So that would go towards the computer. And then there was the �100 we saved on the wood decking in the garden because dad found somewhere that was cheaper. And then there was the �100 we didn't spend on holiday, and I've got �40 that they could have because I'm not doing anything with it. So basically, the computer only cost �60. So where's the problem?

But my mum just turned to me and went, "don't be silly Emma! Of course you need winter coats!".

Err....the point was...

...never mind.

But it all turned out ok after that because before she could say anything else, I raced upstairs to my room and shouted "Look Mum! I've tidied my room! It's spotless!" and as if by magic, the smile returned to her face and all was well in the world once more.

Phew.

Well, I'm looking forward to going back to Sixth Form next week, as sad as that may sound. I miss everyone so much and I haven't really laughed good and heartily since the day I called Katie "tashy one eyebrow".

1:15 a.m. - 2002-08-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow