onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The London Trip 2003, by Emma and Bec

It's time to put you out of your misery. That's right, I am going to write a new entry...

Finally, I am officially 18 years of age. Now I can run with scissors.

Last Saturday, me, Katie and a few friends went to a Cantonise restaurant to celebrate. It was fantastic. It seemed the waiters were fascinated to see so many 18 year old girls in one place and every male waiter came to our table to ask us if we wanted anything. Some even brought a mate for support, who would just stand hovering by the table whilst his friend stuttered over the menu or tried to chat one of us up.

But we must have looked a scary bunch. Especially when I shoved two dessert bowls up my top *shudders*. No-one deserves to see that. Though it was all for a good cause as we were allowed to keep the bowls so I was actually using my bra as nifty storage space.

The food was amazing - no doubt full of calories. And the desserts were just right. I had an Emporer, which is basically just really nice caramel ice cream, though deciding on desserts involved a lot of concentrated thought as it was either that or, amusingly, a bowl of Ming.

On Tuesday, me and my Art buddies went on an Art trip to London. We were left to our own divises and were meant to go round all the Art galleries that Mrs Smythe had mapped out for us. Katie led us to believe that this was "only a suggestion" so we spent the majority of the day in Pizza Hut.

When we weren't eating pizza though, we found ourselves being reluctantly dragged to the British Museum. Amazingly, it was quite fun. Christel was intent on seeking out a 'fit bloke' but when there weren't any, we decided to harrass Mark and shout things like "oooh look at him, he's FIT!" when he came in the room. He didn't really seem to appreciate it though, which puzzles me slightly.

Ryan decided to stay with the girls whilst the boys went sight-seeing, so he spent the whole time in Oxford street (oooh, how posh do I sound?), shopping. At first he seemed reluctant to join in with our enthusiasm over bags and off the shoulder tops, but after about an hour he started to say things like, "that really sets off the colour of your eyes" and getting into the swing of it. When the rest of the boys came back they were amazed by his transformation and accused us of 'turning him into a woman'. Mwahaha! I thought he genuinely enjoyed spending the day with us, but then Robbo informed me yesterday that he'd sent him a text message that read: KILL ME PLEASE.

Oh...

I enjoyed the train rides and especially the ones on the Underground because at just about every stop, Gav would get off and we'd have to grab his bag and pull him back in the train again. I really liked the journey back to Nottingham though. It was really cosy and we got free tea and coffee. Becky-rah and I, loved our day so much we even wrote a poem on the way home about it:

"The London Trip 2003, by Emma and Bec

We stepped on the train

It all seemed a daze

I was scared of the pain (what??)

My expression was crazed

The seat crippled my ass

'cause it wasn't first class

the view, it was grand

the train came to a stand (-still)

So here we are

London city

the cat said purr

and the man was witty

Mark read the map

'cause he's a great chap

got us from Queens cross

to Green Park, before dark

To the British Museum we journied

pottery, skeletons and books galore

Mark the man was still our lead

in London, our country's core

Topshop is our destination

though we never arrive through map complication

then Selfridges is our shining star

I buy a cool top, and it is a bar(gain)

We spend hours in H&M

Christel found some lovely tops

we spent some time looking for fit men

then carried on rading the shops"

So there you have it...our masterpiece.

________________________________________

Today we went to my Nanna's house after school. It was lovely but it made me feel a bit sad as usual. Nanna had laid all of Grandad's jumpers out on one of the beds and told me and Kate that we could look through his clothes if we wanted to. I looked through the wardrobe full of my Grandad's coats and hugged the ones that reminded me of him the most. I even looked in the pockets, though it felt a bit disrespectful to be going through his things even though he's not here anymore. In one of his pockets I found a folded up hankerchief, a safety pin, a bit of a chewing gum wrapper, a label, a balled up sweet wrapper and a tic tac. And I held them in my hand and thought how incredibly special every single item was because it had been my grandad's. I couldn't even bring myself to throw the wrappers away because he'd ripped it or he'd rolled it up into a little ball - they were things that had been touched by him and had stayed exactly how he'd left them.

The hankerchief had never been used and had been folded up quiet clumsily and I wondered if he'd folded it when he was getting ill because before they had always been so neat. I sat staring at it for a long time, until I could feel my back burning against the radiator.

Then I found a crumpled up piece of paper in another one of his coat pockets. I opened it up and it was a list. Some of it was shopping I think, and some of it was to remind him of what he was going to do that day. It read: "PAPER, CHERRY, PAIST, RAIL" and something else I can't remember, in block capitals. His writing was so familar and seeing that he'd written 'paste' wrong made me so sad for some reason, because I can remember him struggling over his spelling and buying spelling books from WHSmiths and trying so hard to get it right. And then I found another mint and I couldn't help but smile at that because you could trust my grandad to have a mint in every pocket.

Nanna gave me one of grandad's cardigans. One of his favourites. It's black with greenish patterns on it and has purple buttons and two of them have been sewn back on and aren't quite in line with the others. I'm wearing it right now; over my pyjamas. It smells just like he used to and if I cuddle it and try hard enough, I can almost imagine that he's inside it, and for a split second he's here and everything's ok again.

11:18 p.m. - 2003-02-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow