onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another belated yearly review: 2008.

1. What did you do in 2008 that you'd never done before? Move to London, work on Big Brother, pass my driving test, enjoy going to the orthodontist.

2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year? Made none, so kept them all. This year I aim to cut out having sugar in my tea and to learn to eat in a slower and more orderly fashion.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Yes. Jessica, to baby Olivia.

4. Did anyone close to you die? Fred from church and Great Auntie Betty.

5. What countries did you visit? None, I�m still too poor.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008? Same as last year � relationship with someone who gives a crap. And to write my own programme. Probably the programme before the boyfriend if I think about it.

7. What date from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? April 10th � passed my driving test. April 11th � Moved to London. April 15th � first day on BB.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Moving and getting a job I loved.

9. What was your biggest failure? Love life in general.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Nope. Apart from the usual barrage of hair straightener burns.

11. What was the best thing you bought? M&S Cheesy mash. If I'm ever in a band I think I'll call it Cheesy Mash.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration? Kate�s, as always; and my mum and dad�s.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed? The odd male.

14. Where did most of your money go? Rent. And the rest on clothes, taxis and my Oyster card. I substitute food for these luxuries and only do a big shop around once every month or so. I�m on the thriftiness diet of tea and toast.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Big Brother stuff, finale and the wrap party, Chris, getting my fringe cut, going home for Christmas and buying the new Jonas Brothers album. Rock on!

16. What song will always remind you of 2008? Nine In The Afternoon by Panic At The Disco.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder? Happier.
ii. thinner or fatter? A bit thinner.
iii. richer or poorer? Richer. Hurrah!

18. What do you wish you'd done more of? Staying in touch with people, being calm, praying.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of? Worrying, being paranoid, feeling jealous, dying my hair various shades of yellow.

20. How will you be spending Christmas? I spent it at home with my family; in my slippers.

21. How will you be spending New Years? I spent it at Shelley�s, our annual get-together. Playing on the Wii, pretending to ski and drinking the last dregs of my 2 year battle with the old bottle of Frangelico.

22. Did you fall in love in 2008? No.

23. How many one-night stands? None.

24. What was your favourite TV programme? Gavin & Stacey.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year? No one now the �at least you haven�t run out of Extra!� advert before Hollyoaks, isn�t on anymore.

26. What was the best book you read? Joshua Ferris�s And Then We Came To The End.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery? Jonas Brothers, Gavin De Graw, Jason Mraz.

28. What did you want and get? A job I loved; to be happy and I was (mainly).

29. What did you want and not get? The right hair colour.

30. What was your favourite film of this year? I have no idea.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? 23. Made a banoffee pie and stayed in my pyjamas.

32. What one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Love and money.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008? Neat. And turning a little tiny bit Camden.

34. What kept you sane? My family, friends, reading, faith.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? I can�t think of one. Maybe I�ve grown up! Oh... no, wait. Probably Joe Jonas. Oh dear.

36. What political issue stirred you the most? Don�t know, really.

37. Who did you miss? My grandparents; my family and friends at home; Holden Caulfield when I finished reading The Catcher in The Rye again; Lauren Conrad and Whitney Port when our digital TV box broke.

38. Who was the best new person you met? I met too many to name, I�ve been lucky.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008. Don�t dye your hair yourself, and always dry between your toes.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Name above all names,
Worthy of all praise,
My heart will sing,
How great is our God.

- Chris Tomlin

11:56 a.m. - 2009-01-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow