onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Paolo x2

That�s right, not only did we see Paolo in Leeds, we went to see him at Rock City in Nottingham as well. What can I say? Obssessed? Okay, maybe a bit; but in my defence I was going through my break-up when I bought the tickets and although the E numbers from all that Cherryade I was drinking did cheer me up, I thought 2 nights of Mr Nutini would do the trick in curing my heartache over Tim.

And yes, 6 months on, one new boyfriend (yes, he's now my boyfriend) and 2 Paolo gigs later, I am feeling much better, thank you.

We went to the first gig with Sarah and it was amazing. We only queued up for about 45 minutes and still got to be in the second row; evidently Paolo fans are pretty nonchalant about queuing up. Though it was cold, we entertained ourselves by randomly pointing at things and looking astounded, making others in the queue wonder what we were pointing at and assuming it was Paolo. Consequently, there were some short-lived bouts of excitement.

Anyway, doing that kept us warm for a while but then when just about everyone around us fell for it at least twice it got a bit old and I started feeling kind of sorry for people. Though I still continued the theme when we were inside the venue and there were different people to fool.

There was a girl in front of us in the queue who kept us entertained in an irritating kind of way. She was getting hysterical, telling her friend that James Blunt apparently, �isn�t doing it for the music anymore�, like her friend cared and like we, behind her, also gave a crap that �he�s just doing it for the fame!� Whatever. She went on about it for about a million years. I said �Pfft, he�s too morbid anyway� and I kind of hoped she�d hate me for it and stop talking, but she didn�t.

Luckily, her friend started talking about Paolo, and I joined in a bit because she wasn�t quite as mad and I thought it would be nice to share some common ground for a moment. She seemed nice enough, she started talking about how she�d met Paolo before, which I thought was good and lucky, but then someone rang her and she said �Well, if we see him again do you want me to get his autograph for you?� like it was a sure-fire thing that they�d meet him. I went off her slightly after that - obviously if she was as buddy buddy with Paolo as she said she was, she wouldn�t have been standing outside in the freezing cold with me.

When we got into the gig, we lost those two; which was a crying shame. However, the �oh, it�s just about the money!� girl did mysteriously turn up next to Sarah half way through, out of nowhere. Probably still having an internal crisis over James Blunt�s musical motivation. Or perhaps she was enjoying Paolo.

The support bands were good. I couldn�t catch the first band�s name, but I loved the second band, Aberfeldy. They were really upbeat and quirky and their music made me feel a little bit drunk, in that tipsy, warm way. We met one of the band members at the end of the gig and asked her if they had a website or myspace page. She was called Sarah and she was really lovely to us, she spoke to us for a few minutes and then got some Aberfeldy badges and found us again to give them to us. I put mine on my cardie straight away and it wasn�t until I got home that I realised it had two lions humping on it. I didn�t care though; I really liked that jolly band.

Paolo was brilliant. I can�t describe how good he was, so I won�t even try; he was probably as good as he is on his album though. And he was gorgeous too, but in an effortless, studenty way that makes your knees weak if you look at him too much. He looked kind of normal and un-showy, like he was just popping to the Students� Union for a drink between lectures.

And it was the same at the Rock City gig; he was just as good. We forgot the digital camera in Leeds though, which resulted in Kate and I arguing and mourning its loss a little bit; but alas, we remembered it for Rock City - I wrote a billion signs and put them up so I�d remember it. It�s funny; writing signs for myself reminds me of my 19th birthday when Tim and my friend Dianne came round for my party and found a sign on my desk saying �HAVE A SHOWER�. It was only so I didn�t put off washing my hair for another day, but Tim still said �oh Emma!� and shook his head, even after my explanation. I didn�t live that down for a while because Tim told Kate and she came in to see and it was in pink highlighter. Not that that makes a difference.

I think it�s time for some photos, don�t you? These are from the Nottingham gig with our friend Mandy who came in the place of Sarah because Sarah had work the next day so couldn�t come. What a boring sentence. Photos�

Here are some photos to make you jealous.

Front row, oh yes!







In between the two gigs, we also had a night out with our friends from work. Due to only eating a cinnamon swirl and two jaffa cakes that day, the small amount of drink I consumed, obviously did me the world of good:

Today, being Friday meant only four hours work again, so as I was extremely pleased by that fact. Unfortunately though, my giddiness led me to lose my senses and eat a whole one of these:

A whole chocolate champagne bottle! What was I thinking? Fatty.

Then I had my driving lesson, which was good. I didn�t mount the curb when pointing out unusually small dogs this week, so my instructor was pleased. Though he did tell me I needed to look where I�m going, which isn�t strictly fair as it implies I drive with my eyes closed, or possibly looking to one side.

When I got home from my lesson today no-one was in and I didn�t have a key so I had to wait outside for ages, so I wasn�t particularly happy. Eventually, Kate found me as I slunk silently from the back garden like a tramp from under a bridge. I�d been in the back garden for 45 minutes, squeezed between the shed and the wheelie bin, trying to have a nap.

I always like to get a nap in when I can.

2:14 p.m. - 2006-12-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow