onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

'alright mard-arse'

Graduation was on Monday 13th November, a whole 2 weeks ago. It was a joyous occasion though I spoilt it a bit by being grumpy for half the day; I couldn�t really explain why I was in a foul mood but I was and it was a real stinker. I fake smiled my way through all of my photos - even my official one, which my mum was mad about as she said at those prices she wanted �28 worth of genuine smile. I could only try my best. I pulled a few tricks out of my sleeve though, as demonstrated in the following photo which shows that petulance can be cleverly disguised with a carefully placed thumbs up. Who�s looking at my face? Not me! Check out those cheery thumbs. I wasn�t allowed to do that in my official photo though.

I cheered up at the ceremony, despite being late and the only one gripping their cap in place whilst lining up to go on stage. My head must be deformed, that thing just wouldn�t stay on. I momentarily forgot how to walk when my name was called but I managed, without falling in my shoes, to walk across the stage to a man I didn�t know, who shook my hand and I whom thanked for absolutely no reason.

�Thanks�. for�. nothing. Who are you?� Vice Chancellor apparently.

After the ceremony there was a buffet in a big room on campus, so we all went there to swish about in our gowns a bit more and get our money�s worth before we took them back. It was lovely to see everyone again and it made me miss my Uni days a lot, especially as now I�m not in a job I like, I have to get up at 6 every morning and I�m living at home again (aww freedom, where have you gone my love?). We took a lot of pictures in said big room, though despite just gaining excellent degrees in media, still managed to misuse the digital camera quite a bit and take videos instead of photos:

Luckily our tutors were on hand and we found the little icon on the camera screen that meant we were taking photos.


At about 4.30 our families left and we went to Revolution for some cocktails. I got a little bit drunk due to not eating anything during the day, I was a bit silly but Rob gave me a fireman�s lift, which made my inebriation completely worth it. It was a fun night and like the old days, which is a good thing as the old days were brilliant. Shaun and I even went back to his flat and had a cup of tea and talked until the early hours, like we used to do when we lived together in our first and second year. We didn�t talk about falling down as much and as in-depth as we used to, but as it is a reoccurring subject when we�re together, we touched upon it. I�ll never grow tired of the Shaun tripping on a pot-hole story - superb. Give that boy a medal.

And we also ate a pizza each, which was quite a feat but we struggled and conquered. The next day we had breakfast at our old feeding trough Breads in Huddersfield and continued reliving the old days. Tim even went for breakfast, which was surprising seeing as in the whole 2 and a half years we were going out, despite my zealous cajoling, he only ever dragged himself out of bed for breakfast with us once, decided it wasn�t worth the hassle and never did it again. So I was surprised. Though to be honest, more surprised that seeing him didn�t feel like a kick in the head, which is how I was expecting it to feel (okay, maybe more like a punch in the stomach, knife in the heart� that type of thing); but I was actually okay with us just being friends.

I still got a few insults in about his new girlfriend though, but �tis to be expected. But they weren�t vicious insults, just along the lines of �you always told me she was annoying�. Which is true. And she is annoying.

Anyway, since graduation I�ve done a whole load of nothing. What a life I lead. I�ve mainly been working, which is depressing. I swear me and Kate are wasted in that factory, today at work we just fell over ourselves laughing at how damn hilarious we are, when we tried to sing Aladdin songs without moving our mouths. The results were astounding and we followed with a medley of The Circle of Life and something from Sleeping Beauty, which I managed to make sound incredibly creepy. I seem to be good at making stuff creepy. We actually had to have a rest from putting Easter Eggs in boxes for 2 minutes to recuperate from all the laughter as we became incapable of doing anything constructive. Seriously, what a life I lead.

I just found the book my mum got Kate and me from the library, it�s called �Love Rules� by Freya North. She's the only author whose books I will never read because they�re always given away as freebies on the front of Cosmo. Freebie books are never going to be very good as if they were, they wouldn�t be given away as freebies. Plus they�re always �romantic� and sexy and I never want to crack open a sexy book if I can help it; in case the pages flatten out on the sex parts and it doesn�t close properly anymore. Then someone finds it, it falls open at that page and they think you�re a pervert. Or �frustrated�. So no. Plus, she�s just a crap writer. It makes me wonder if my mum knows me at all sometimes.

But in other news, things are going okay with Dominic. He came to my house on Saturday to watch a DVD (Ghostbusters 2) and met my parents so they could check him out and know I was hanging about with someone decent. It was very nice; I like how Dom said I�m the only person he�s ever wanted to kiss who wears slipper socks. It made me laugh; they�re bright pink and have sticky-out knitted polar bears on them. I only really put them on to gauge his commitment to me - you know that if a boy lets you wear your slipper socks without making snidey comments or telling you to take them off, he must be serious about you. It�s always make-or�break when it comes to woollen footwear. And slippers. But that�s a whole other scenario.

10:22 p.m. - 2006-11-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow