onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I bet everyone at Cadbury's is happy and fat...

It�s been a good week; the weeks are starting to go fast now at Willy Wonka�s. I�ll be 50 before I know it.

Sometimes when I�m sitting at the belt folding things, I wonder what it�s like to work in other food factories. Occasionally my work friends and I talk about what it would be like at the Cadbury factory, or at lunch we�ll look at the best before dates on our Pepsi bottles and the time they�d been manufactured; and we�ll discuss how the workers must feel at that time in the day. We say things like, �12:37, aww they�d be disappointed that it�s still ages til they can go home, though they�ll probably have gone to lunch not long after that bottle was packed. I wonder what the canteen�s like at Brit-Vic. Do you think they get homemade soup too?�

On Thursday we spent a while wondering who put the labels on the things we were consuming and if they were happy.

Friday is half-day so yesterday I got a bit giddy, drunk on the luxury of only 4 hours work. I was doing a variety of jobs which involved folding and sticking things. Mainly folding. When I got home I watched Brain Teaser with my dad as he shouted up the stairs to me �Come and watch Brain Teaser! This man on it looks terrified!�

Dad said he never would have watched the programme but felt compelled to after seeing the man, as he looked like he was regretting ever going on. Even mum decided to abandon working for a while to watch him, even though earlier she�d insisted on silence and told me to watch the television wearing her keyboard headphones.

I had a giant nap after the effort of trying to figure out the word pyramid, and then I went to the Youth Group I�m helping out at because they�re making a video. I�m meant to be the media �expert� which makes me laugh a bit inside. I�m quite good at the camera though and I surprised myself last night by actually knowing my stuff.

And then we get to today, a glorious Saturday. Mum is forcing me to clean my room, which makes me feel a bit like I�m in a time warp. Am I actually 12 again? At least that would explain my mad fringe. Kate�s gone to Huddersfield to see Bob this weekend so I�m hiding away in her room to avoid a lecture from mum or a work-related mime from my dad. Looking around, I�ve never known anyone to leave so many pairs of pants strewn around their room as my sister. It�s like walking into a brothel after a police raid.

Anyway, I think I�ll go and make a sandwich now. Or a �sandwish� as I seem to call them these days. I�ve started allowing myself time off at weekends when it comes to annunciation.

4:52 p.m. - 2006-09-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow