onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My life in mime

Apologies again for my lack of entries; I actually started 2 entries this week, but they both failed to break the threshold of being good so I scrapped them.

On Sunday my parents managed to get me out of the house to buy a tent for camping in a few weeks. I didn�t actually need much persuading to go to the camping show - with all the tents set up so you can walk inside, it seemed quite fun; but I put up a bit of resistance to see what they would do and so their victory was that much sweeter.

My dad tried to convince me by telling me, in a serious tone, that he and Mum choosing a tent for me would compare to them choosing a University for me to go to or choosing me a boyfriend. I had to laugh. I was openly appalled by the ridiculous nature of this comment and told my dad that he was wrong, for numerous reasons (as you must always recount the reasons why your parents are wrong). I said: firstly I am not going to live in my tent for three years and get a qualification for doing so, and neither am I going to go to the pub with it, let it buy me a drink and have a game of pool.

So I went to the camping show and enjoyed the campy things. I quite got into the thought of camping and was seconds away from buying myself some mini freezer blocks, a thermos or a picnic bag. Dad would have loved the mini freezer blocks, which I told him about later, because he�s like me and we like shite like that. He told me he was also very close to buying the blocks and we discussed their uses and how endearing they were for a minute. Just think of all the small things we could have cooled with them and what we missed out on because I didn�t have �1.39 in cash.

I chose a lovely blue tent though, so the goal for the day was fulfilled. It wasn�t quite the life-altering decision I was led to believe it would be, but with the sun beating down on my neck and all that choosing, it warranted a good, long nap when I got back.

Though I have not only been to camping shows this week. No no. I have also been to the pub and the park with my sister, Jay and Chris. Chris and me wondered if we could still climb trees so we had a go at one at Burnt Stump. From this we realised that the answer was yes, we could climb trees, but no, we couldn�t get down from them as I got stuck and became paralysed with fear. It took a while, but everyone got involved and I came down eventually, as Kate used the humiliation technique to get me down. I�d kicked off my shoes to give myself a fighting chance of getting a good way up and beating Chris, and Kate kept telling me she could smell my feet and I better come down and put my shoes back on. She kept saying �Poo-ee!� and making various noises like that. It did the trick.

But it was a lovely day and it was like we were 10 again because we couldn�t afford to do anything after buying one or two drinks so we went to a park and went on the seesaws and roundabouts. We got flung off of all of them (Kate nearly broke both her legs and started crying a bit) and covered in wood chippings because none of us knew our strength. My legs went over my head and my shoes came off a good few times. I had to go home and have a bath and Kate had to put cream on her grazes and have an early night. It was that good.

But anyway, at some point the fun must stop and yes, the job hunt has finally begun.

You see, since coming home, I have only silently worried that my life is now stretched ahead of me like an empty chasm. Though as the days have rolled by, I have slowly begun to realise that I need a livelihood, preferably something I like doing, and would also like to get out of my parents� house at some point.

I decided to give myself about a week to relax and do very little though, before I phoned up Thorntons to ask for last year�s summer job back, which they would no doubt give me. But alas, they don�t have any jobs going! I suppose it serves me right for thinking I could stroll in from another year at Uni and set about packing and folding boxes again as though I never left. But I am disappointed.

During Uni, when I had too much to do, I thought there would be nothing better than free days to do whatever or as little as I want in. However, this bubble burst since coming home as I realise that I will never get to sit around in a blissful dormant state when my parents are around. My mum has finished her Access course for the summer, which means she is at home all of the time, feeling guilty that she has nothing to do. This has resulted in her spending a lot of time either coaxing me out of bed in the mornings, telling me to get a bit of fresh air, asking what my day�s plans are (not as innocent a question as you may think), or trying to drag me on a walk around the reservoir.

My dad has also taken to asking me to do �a little bit of cleaning� and when he�s not working spends his time popping into whatever room I am occupying and asking me to scrub or dust something. After initially asking me to do something, he�s also started prompting me by doing small mimes where he pretends to wipe something and then points to the bathroom. Yesterday he did the wiping mime with a thumbs-up from behind the fridge door, so my mum couldn�t see and so I would do the cleaning seemingly un-prompted. My taking the initiative would then pleasantly surprise my mum, though she would still be blissfully unaware that I was taking my instructions via some amateur dramatics in the corner.

I decided to tell me mum all about dad�s cajoling last night though, as it was driving me insane, and we laughed at my impression of his mimes. Shell enjoyed them too, as she�d nipped round from next door.

9:42 p.m. - 2006-07-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow