onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

boredom, excitement and womanhood

The last few days have been fun-filled. Yesterday I spent all day sitting at my computer attempting to do work. The only interruption I had was Tim bringing round a book I bought from Amazon on media monopolies (a waste of �15) for my Policy essay and then it was back to attempting to work.

Somehow I can wile away 16 hours at the computer quite easily, without really knowing how I�ve filled the time, but knowing I only spent around 2 disjointed hours doing what I set out to do.

When it got dark and I finally realised I ought to get a move on, I went to the kitchen to refuel, and saw my new flat mate (I forgot to mention her, but she moved into the merry household 2 weeks ago), sitting at the table with pink tissue and cellotape wrapped around one of her fingers, which was stuck in the air while her other hand was skillfully managing some chopsticks.

I asked what on earth she was doing and she said �I chopped the top of my finger off and it�s bleeding.�

Well, I�ve never moved so fast in all my life. At last, a real emergency that I can use my First Aid Kit for! I raced to my bedroom, proudly got my little green box out of my drawer of useful things, and ran back into the kitchen to bandage Yu Han up.

Sadly, after spreading the contents of my box out on the kitchen table and unwrapping a few packs of bandages I realised that I had no idea how to dress a wound, though was sure it would be better than Yu Han�s toilet-paper /cellotape affair so wasn�t too put off.

Nonetheless, prior to my enthusiastic stab at bandaging I realised exactly why my First Aid Kit had only cost �2.99 , as the first aid �booklet� it boasted about on the front, turned out to be a slip of paper with �EMERGENGY NUMBERS: 999 - Emergency Call; 112 - Emergency call (mobile phones)� written on it, a list of the contents of my kit and a photo of a bandage.

Once the top of Yu Han�s finger was covered up, we called a taxi and went to Huddersfield Royal Infirmary�s A & E to get a proper bandage put on and because it hadn�t stopped bleeding for 2 hours.

I�d never been out of the flat with my new flat mate, nor had any desire to before, but we got on surprisingly well at the hospital and she said I was funny because I said I hoped the meal she�d been cooking had been worth the hassle. I found myself over-looking the sheer volume of her voice which startles me every time she speaks, the constant cleaning and the opening of windows when it�s freezing outside, and I ended up liking her a lot more than I thought I would.

After a lot of dramatic wailing and bleeding over things at the hospital, we got back and I started my struggle with my work again, continuing my cycle of sitting at the computer for large periods of time, finding something frozen or instant to eat and returning to my hairy blue chair for more bouts of boredom and despair. I stayed up until 3am this morning in an attempt to tick at least 1 of my 3 items off on my To Do list, and somehow managed to tick 2 glorious boxes before I went to bed.

Today, after sleeping through my alarm, I got up at 11.30am and resumed my position at the computer. Instead of Photoshop-ing various photos of me, my friends and Jessica Fletcher, today my breaks were filled up with looking at Amazon.co.uk (again) and this time looking at non-Murder, She Wrote books and ones that I will actually read. I also stumbled across the pregnancy pages on ivillage.com and read through some of the pregnancy journals just to see what they�re like.

I don�t know why, but I�m very hormonal at the moment (though it maybe due to having not ventured into the fresh air in 3 days) and just about anything can almost reduce me to tears (such as said pregnancy journals). I�m putting it down to stress with Uni, though I�m not actually that stressed about it, if I�m honest. I probably should be, and I get the odd panicky feeling where my eyes widen and I write myself a giant, rushed To Do list before I go to bed, but apart from those times I�m quite calm.

I just wish I could stop myself from welling up at silly things, like when I read the back of a romantic novel or a well-written piece of writing or when I trip over my slippers with a drink in my hand.

Sometimes being a woman is just rubbish.

12:09 a.m. - 2006-03-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow