onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cloudy at first, clearing later

Today started off badly.

After I�d written the �all is calm on the western front� bit in my diary last night, ironically, I went to bed and couldn�t sleep at all, for worrying that I had too much to do and no time to do it in. I rested my head on my pillow for a bit and as I was almost dropping off, I was bolted upright by a moment of feeling complete and utter despair that was so intense I ended up inexplicably sobbing into my pillow for the next 20 minutes.

Yep. How pathetic.

I cried myself to sleep and I couldn�t even explain why.

So after a rough night, I woke up this morning feeling worse for wear, and as if exhaustion wasn�t enough, my misery was added to by the realization that my eyes had puffed up and one was now bigger than the other.

After struggling to apply enough make-up and eyeliner to try and cover up my temporary disfigurement, I went to uni and was fine until Kate saw me as we were waiting to go into the lecture and asked me what was wrong, straight away. That girl can see right through me � or maybe my fat eyelids gave me away; either way I tried not to crack. I did the �I�m fine� and a smile thing, and Kate did what people dissatisfied with the answer they�re given do, and viewed me from a different angle, tilting her head to one side and asking me again.

I tried my hardest to do the �I�m fine� plus smile trick again but the smile rapidly disappeared and my chin wobbled and I started crying and sobbed �I�m sad and I don�t know why!� and Kate gave me a hug, which just displayed my creased up face to the rest of the corridor. Kate asked if Tim knew I was sad and I said no, then my voice cracked and in an increasingly escalating wail I went, �he hasn�t been standing with me because I was eating a Buffet Bar!� showing her the wrapper in my hand, and then I said something about a Dairylea Dunker.

Luckily, I calmed down after that; the good thing about crying in public is that you get lots of hugs and someone always hands you a lovely, soft tissue.

After the lecture my day started picking up, firstly because on the way to my weekly dissertation meeting with my tutor, me, Kate and our friend Nadine sang the theme tune to Captain Planet.

After last week�s episode of crying in my tutor�s office (I didn�t mention this at the time as it was just lame), he asked how my dissertation was going and then asked, �and what about the other things?� so I told him the events of a few hours earlier.

I daren�t imagine what he thinks of me, crying all the time. My meetings with my tutor are never exactly straight-forward anyway; today I told him about my plan to save up my Nectar points so that when I have a baby I can use them in Argos to buy a pram.

I can�t for the life of me remember how I managed to bring that up.

On the way to Kate�s house where we were going to write up some of our Audience Research project, Kate, Nadine and I took a detour round all the charity shops in Huddersfield town centre in search of bargains. Nadine bought 3 plates and a suitcase, Kate got herself a brown mug, and I ended up with 4 books and a sugar bowl.

We then went to Tesco for a roast chicken and crusty bread and when we got back to Kate�s we made the greatest sandwiches ever; so good that we took photos of our delighted faces as we held our sandwiches up to them.

After stuffing our faces we went up to Kate�s room to do some work, but ended up huddled by the radiator talking about babies and my Nectar point-pram plan; we never really got much work done as when we finally got round to switching the computer on, Kate said, �Wouldn�t it be funny if you said you�d bought a new laptop but really you�d done this� and then she did this:


Which resulted in more photo taking and an e-mail to dad.

11:59 a.m. - 2006-03-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow