onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"your Honour, she was just sipping her tea and..."

I've not laughed so much in ages.

I was on the bus talking to Tim when we got onto the subject of families. As usual, Tim turned the conversation round a corner, down the lane and parked it in Weirdland. Somehow we got onto the subject of family members kissing other family members and it all became bit disturbing. Then when it became even more so, Tim went "Urgh! That's incense!"

Oh I almost cried I was laughing so hard. And his confused face was the prettiest picture.

"What? It's incense! That's what it's called!"

"no no sweetheart, it's not incense. Incense is something that smells nice. You mean INCEST"

"Shut up"

Then there was silence. Apart from my laughter and the occasional snort. Ha, wow that was a fun bus ride. I won't let him forget that one in a while.

I just remembered the conversation I had with Shaun a few weeks ago about how funny it is when people fall over. We've had that conversation many times; We have 3 stories that we always remind eachother of:

1) The woman who slipped at the bottom of a small mound of earth outside the pub on campus on bonfire night, about 10 times, and then resorted to crawling up it.

Her boyfriend looked so pissed off.

2)We also enjoy the one where Neil was winning a race in sports day one year, he turned to wave to the crowd and fell right over like in a film; everyone flew by and he ended up being last.

3) My favourite - Shaun was walking to school, tripped over a pot-hole in the road, tried the keep himself steady but ended up only falling down in slow-motion. His bag went over his head, making him unable to get up from the floor.

Shaun was re-telling the last one when I got the sudden unstoppable urge to chime in with the fact that I hate it when people do a drum roll on the table with their fists when someone is trying to drink his or her drink quickly - forgetting for a split second that my mouth was full of tea. I took a breath so that I could begin my complaint in full swing, inhaled my tea and then realising it had gone down the wrong way, blew it out of my mouth and nose, all over the table, the floor and an unaware Shaun, like a human power spray. I could tell Shaun was both horrified and impressed at the area I'd manage to cover in tea and then couldn't help laughing his head off until I started making disgusting noises and he eventually asked if I was ok. I managed to choke out "Tea! Tea!" and made a 'T' sign with my hands which started Shaun off again with the laughing.

He wouldn't have been laughing if I'd died of tea inhalation. I'm sure that scenario must have happened somewhere... Probably in America, and a tea bag company got sued ;-)

Me and Tim went to Leeds on Friday, for a little Christmas outing. It was excellent. I know how to get on trains now. We walked around for ages and ages until we got very hungry so we went to a pub for food. I had a very weird looking broccoli and brie bake and seriously, it was so weird I was almost embarrassed to eat it. Tim ordered a chicken, cheese and bacon hot sandwich but was brought a tuna and cheese one. We didn't complain though because we're push-overs, but Tim liked it and in the end we discovered it was actually salmon and cheese and not tuna and cheese and I got all overwhelmed and overexcited that he'd found another food he liked that wasn't iced buns or potato smiley faces.

After our trip, we got some wine and a bottle of Archers from Tesco and went back to the flat and watched The Office for the millionth time, though it was extra funny because I got drunk somehow. I ruined our romantic evening after that because I threw up and Tim had to look after me, but at least Kate had a good laugh when she came in and saw me clutching the toilet bowl with a face like a smacked bum.

Apart from that, our last evening together for 3 weeks was a success. And I didn't even get a hang-over.

So I'm home for Christmas now, and it's good to be home. I've been looking forward to it for weeks. Even coming back and finding my dad has turned my room into his office didn't make it feel any less like home. And everyone's making a special effort to tolerate eachother too, because they know that me and Kate aren't permanent fixtures around here anymore and could just float off into the big, wide world at any time and be eaten by alligators or something.

11:13 p.m. - 2003-12-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow