onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a modern day mystery

We have a ghost in our flat.

Well, that's what we're thinking, though it's yet to be confirmed. It all started last night. I was in the kitchen eating my dinner and Shaun came in. Eager to get to his usual dinner of something tinned, he walked to his cupboard to inspect its contents. Startled from whatever delicious feast I was consuming, I heard "Where the fuck's my Fray Bentos!?" and a slamming of cupboard doors.

After calming him down, there was careful examination of the rest of Shaun's cupboards and we found that not only was there a tinned pie, but also 1 litre of milk and 2 diarylea triangles missing. Devastated, Shaun didn't shut up about it all night.

Then this afternoon I went to get some lunch, Jay was already in the kitchen when I got in there. He told me that he'd been all set to make himself a sausage sandwich when he discovered that, to his horror, his sausages had disappeared. Looking for something else to eat, he found 2 chicken breasts and some chicken slices had also gone missing.

Horrified, yet still hungry, I decided to have some chicken nuggets - the 5 chicken nuggets I'd wrapped up and saved specially for moments like this. I looked in the freezer. They were gone.

I don't have much food. I almost cried.

After much standing around, me and Jay put some turkey escalopes and hash browns in the oven to cook and to pass the time we went to my room and started planning how we were going to catch whoever was stealing our food. Shaun also mentioned that he'd seen someone coming out of our kitchen at about half past 3 on Friday morning (something he'd failed to mention before). He just came out of the kitchen and went out the front door, apparently. So we're a little on edge.

Anyway, Kate blow-dried and straightened Shaun's hair while me and Jay watched and then we went to the kitchen to check on our food. Someone had turned the oven off while we'd been in my room! We ran all the way back to my room like 5 year olds and then 10 minutes later, while Kate carried on grooming Shaun, there was a flash in the corridor, like someone had taken a photo. No-one was there though, yet we cowered on my bed for a further ten minutes or so before we went to investigate.

We reported our missing food at reception a few hours ago now, but we're making a trap in the kitchen tonight to try and catch whoever's doing it. We're going to try and record it too, to see if anything happens when we're not in the room.

I think it's going to be a long night. And we'd scheduled watching the rest of Home Alone as well :-( however, now we're just going to spend all night sitting under the counters armed with pans and knives.

On the other hand though, it's quite exciting. I'm excited to find out whether my sausages will still be in the fridge for my sausage casserole tonight. What a mystery.

But I'm going to have to go now. I've been here for ages and people are starting to queue up for PCs. If I don't write in here again it's because the thief has probably got me, but remember I love you all.

Except Jay, because you called me a whore.

4:05 p.m. - 2003-11-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow