onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last Day at the Needle's Eye Cafe

Today was mine and Kate's last day at the cafe. It was the same as usual to be honest, except Susan started crying at random moments during the day, overcome by the reality of us leaving. Bless her.

At 5 o clock I served my last customer. I whipped my digital camera out of my pocket and said to him, "you're my last ever customer, can I take your picture?". He looked silently amused and then when he realised I was serious, wandered off to the toilets for a few minutes to check his hair. When he came back I'd written a sign for him to hold up that read, "Emma's last Customer", with an arrow. The picture is great, he was excellent at following my directions on holding the best pose. Then I thanked him, told him by being my last customer he will always hold a special place in my heart, said bye and he left.

Then when everyone had got over how weird I was, they gave me a present - 3 bracelets, and they're beautiful. I was really surprised, I didn't even think they cared about me that much and honestly thought Carole would say something like, "So it's you're last day huh? Well good fuckin' luck! Seeya 'round...". But maybe I'm too negative. I appreciate her more than I've let on though. And the sentiment of goodbye presents from them all will not be forgotten.

Throughout the day I took lots of pictures and 20 second videos, one being 'the journey of the plate', which Kate ripped off as her idea when she did 'the journey of the mug'. Everyone thought she should be a damn artist after that *shakes fist*

We finally left, half an hour after we finished working. And away we were, riding into the sunset, unemployed once more but with �25 snuggly in our pockets and �400 nestling in our Post Office accounts.

But I'm really going to miss that place.

10:34 p.m. - 2003-08-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow