onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Guess where I am!

We're here!

It's been lovely and sunny for the whole time so far, down here in Milford-on-Sea (near the mouth of Bourne). The journey here was much better than I expected. Someone was throwing up in a plastic bag for a very long time, on the first bus. Then we got to London, neither one of us was killed, and we got on the second bus. This time there was a woman sitting in front of us who every so often would go "Uh!" and scare me half to death. Katie was unsurprisingly irritating and pointed out every single Baskin Robbins we went passed.

It's really lovely to be here. I feel really comfortable with Auntie Leslie and Uncle Dennis and Mick (the dog). So far we've watched at least 5 hours of Big Brother a day, and I've managed to beat Kate and Auntie Leslie in scrabble (I pulled "quad" out the hat at the vital moment), even though they refuse to allow me any glory and deny I won. We had an interview at the Needles Eye Beach Cafe on Thursday. We were interviewed by a Canadian woman who owns the place with her sister and the interview went something like this:

her: So you're 18, huh?

us: yep

her: you're keen, I didn't think you'd be here so early

us: oh

her: can you add up?

us: yep

her: ok then, when can you start?

So we're starting on Monday (tomorrow). We make drinks, serve ice creams and sell things in the shop. Should be easy peasy, except I'm worried about it because of the "can you add up?" question. Yes, I can add up. But I wanted to say "actually I'm rubbish at take aways" because taking something like �3.63 from a �10 note is beyond me, if you want me to do that kind of simple maths before your ice cream melts. I'll let you know how I get on though and whether I'm fired or demoted to pot washer, if I get the chance to come on here again.

I'm definitely missing everyone a lot though. Mum and dad phone up every day, so we get to speak to them and tell them what we're doing and find out what they're up to. As ever, Jacksdale is the hub of the action, with my dad making ribbon decorations for the war memorials at church and my mum cleaning the house and food shopping.

I've already started writing my letters and postcards to send to everyone. Thank you to the people who sent me their addresses, you'll probably find something from moi on your door mat some time this week. [Holly, my lack of being able to partake in our weekly e-mails has made me a letter writing pro, so consider yourself warned. You will be recieveing a short novel.]

Today Auntie Leslie and Uncle Dennis are out, so me and Kate are on our own doing nothing. We're left to our own devices in the meal-making stakes, so hopefully we won't burn the pizza we've been given to heat up. We'll try our best is all I can say.

Kirst and her mum are coming down to Milford some time this week (if my knowledge of dates is up to scratch), so I'm looking forward to that very much. Hopefully we'll be able to spend a lot of time with them, and maybe even more time after tomorrow, when I'm fired.

If you come down to Milford at all, just look for the girl with poofy sea-air hair and that'll be me, and I'll pour you a cup of crap tea for your troubles and give you the wrong change.

12:29 p.m. - 2003-07-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow