onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tetris. The silent addiction.

I�m listening to Westlife. I don�t know what�s come over me. I�ve also been playing Tetris. When I combined the two I worried I had problems, but it hasn�t stopped me already wiling away an hour staring at the screen whilst singing every lyric on the Coast to Coast album. Yes, It�s the old albums as well; the ones that remind me of videoing CD:UK and my main concern in life being not knowing which Westlife member I fancied the most. Eventually I whittled it down to a toss-up between Shane and Kian. It was a huge relief.

Tetris is exasperating me though. It�s a free online version, and you can�t even win on it. You just play until you lose � what�s the point? I always like a game I�m playing to tell me how great I am, surely it isn�t too much to ask for a bit of positive affirmation once in a while. I�ve started feeling agitated when I come home too, as I�ll eat my dinner in the living room with Sophie, fane interest in Hollyoaks for a bit, then run off during ad breaks, only to return 7 to 10 minutes later with runny red eyes and a glazed expression. Sophie must think I'm a drug addict. Either that or that I have a secret addiction to holding my eyelids open in my bedroom. Either way, I�ve played Tetris so many times now that when I go on the site it�s started saying �welcome back�, and trying to make me sign up for things and play other games � I fear it may be onto me.

Though in more significant goings on in my life, I now have a boyfriend. He is a friend of a friend called Jonny, and we met when he was drunk and I wasn�t, which was a massive advantage on my part. I first noticed him when we were all outside a bar on a night out, and a drunk tramp sat down near us. Jonny looked a bit forlorn and I said to his friend, �what�s wrong with him?� His friend said, �I think he�s amazed that there�s someone drunker than him here�. And then I realised I had a chance.

He makes me very happy. I don�t know what I did to find someone so wonderful to be honest.

�Up Town Girl� has just come on. I danced to this at my Year 11 prom when I was 16. I made up a small inconsistent dance to it, which I performed on a table whilst wearing a dress that made me look like I�d been chopped off at the knees. Those were good days. I danced to Backstreet�s Back as well, which was a dance that carried me all the way through to my university days and beyond. I�m sure Kate and Kirsty would also maintain that the Backstreet Boys Dance has served them well over the years, well into their twenties.

I�m 25 now. It was mine and Kate�s 25th birthday on January 29th, and I celebrated with a full English breakfast made by my own fair hand, and scorched eyelashes. This was followed by a meal at Wagamamas in the evening as I like to keep things simple, and of course follow my birthday tradition of eating too much.

And going back to my virtual life, I deactivated my facebook profile this evening. I was fed up of comparing my life to every one else�s and realising it�s rubbish in contrast - but facebook doesn�t half try and guilt trip you out of it! I clicked on �deactivate�, after spending 10 minutes sweating with my mouse hovering over it, not realising that making that ultimate decision was actually a few guilt trips away yet, and I had to have a few rings run around me first. Up popped photos of me and my dad, photos of me and my sister, and me and various friends, telling me, �Katie will miss you�, and �Charlie will miss you�, and �some bitch who�s seeing your ex who you don�t like but feel obliged to stay friends with so that it looks like you don�t actually care, will miss you�. So I took a deep breath and deactivated; and now I�m absolutely certain that something amazing is happening on there. And what�s more, it�s just encouraged my Tetris addiction even more.

Who would�ve thought that no longer being on Facebook could make me an even bigger geek?

Photobucket

(I also have asthma.)

11:23 p.m. - 2010-03-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow