onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's Kiss-Your-Ex-Who's-No-Good-For-You Day!

Happy belated Valentine�s Day!

So Wednesday was Valentine�s Day. I�ve decided that as a general overview of the whole thing, I hate Valentine�s Day. It means you�re expected to ask everyone in your life what they did for it, or they�ll get offended. I did nothing thanks; I was at work. Lots of people there told me the romantic things they were going to do when they got home though and a few times during the day I was nearly sick into my hands.

I wasn�t in the mushy mood at all, due to my lack of a real love life and all. That is, until 1.45pm when I was extremely bored of packing Easter eggs so hatched a plan to kiss Dominic instead. It just needed to be done. I seem to be unable to get that boy out of my system and anyway, kissing him is way more fun than making Easter egg boxes.

So I thought about it for a while, imagined myself walking up to him, kissing him and walking back to where I was working, all nonchalant. And I thought �screw it, I�m doing it!� and excused myself to go to the toilet and walked across the factory floor. I was almost where he was working when I chickened out, got a little anxious that evidence of the half an easter egg I�d eaten whilst making my decision was melted onto my chin; so I ducked into the Ladies. What an idiot! I checked my make-up, rubbed chocolate off my face, made sure my hairnet was at its sexiest, you know� and walked out.

I saw Dominic as soon as I came out of the toilets and just as I was about to chicken out again and casually veer off towards the water fountain, I caught his eye. I thought I better go over then, especially as I can�t control my limbs in his presence and had already done an involuntary over-enthusiastic wave. So I walked over to Dominic and we got into the same awkward conversation we always have. The �how are you? Are you having fun?� one, where a few sarcastic comments are thrown in here and there about how much we�re enjoying work, along with a bit of nervous laughter and the odd lingering look. I had about 5 minutes to decide whether I was going to kiss him before his shift ended and he went home, so I just lingered. How attractive and oh so cool of me. And then Dominic said he was going. What to do!? So I blurted out before I could stop myself, �actually, I had a plan��.

�Oh yeah?�

�Yeah�� I was feeling brave so I told him, �I was going to run up here, kiss you, then run back.� I don�t know why I said �run�, like I was in a hurry, but it sounded more casual that way. Luckily, Dominic laughed and said �Well why didn�t you do it?� So I told him I realised I wasn�t that brave after all; at which point he gave me a sideways glance and said �you can still do it if you want�.�

Oh yes!

I wanted to, that was the whole plan; but then I went all embarrassed, realising we were in the factory - and we were both wearing hats. To be honest, I never stop thinking about my stupid hat as I feel so stupid in it. Sometimes I even dream about it - that I�m wearing it to really important events like my graduation, and once I dreamt I was in my Thorntons overalls on a night out. But anyway, I glanced around and said �in here?� like it had been his idea to kiss in the middle of the factory and not mine. And Dominic folded his arms and gave me a look - like he was challenging me - and he said �Yep! But I�m leaving in a few minutes so this is your only chance.�

Well, you know me by now. I took it. There were a few engineers around but they weren�t looking our way, so I leaned in and kissed him. Right next to the machine where they were making caramel cups.

It was just lovely. It was a proper kiss, like the ones we used to have (and well� that one last Friday). If I hadn�t been wearing industrial shoes with hefty steel toe�caps to weigh me down, I may have fallen right on over. It was good.

And then I went back to my job and Dominic went home.

I was smiling for a good half an hour after that one; anyone would agree that it's always nice to wangle a kiss out of an unsuspecting boy. And for a moment it felt just like the Thorntons logo says it is at that bloody factory. Chocolate Heaven.

Yes. Even with the hats.

7:13 p.m. - 2007-02-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow