onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

'Happy Birthday! Is it your 18th?'

I always complain that I have nothing to do and nothing�s going on in my life, then when things eventually happen I neglect to write them in here. Apologies.

Two weekends ago now, I went to Huddersfield, to get away from it all. It was a success all round; finally, after 18 months of inactivity and broken promises, Shaun and I sat down at the PC and finished our game of Black Mirror. Yep, we dug out the 5 A4 sheets of notes we�d written and continued our mission.


(our detailed notes)

We started talking about our memories from when we played it in our second year at Uni and realised that we needed to get a life as we started talking about it as if it were real. I realised this after saying �Oh, do you remember that time we went to Wales and we had to go to the cottage where that doctor was making a potion?� and Shaun said �Oh yeah! When we had to find that solution?�

I continued, �Yeah, and it was a really sunny day wasn�t it? It was lovely� and Shaun said �it was a well nice day! I think that day we had to turn on a tap�.

�Good times, they were.�

And then we spoke for a while about how the main character, Samuel, puts his hood up when he�s outside and how we think he�s a bit of a wuss, even though he digs up graves in the middle of the night. And we took photos of ourselves looking absolutely chuffed, at different locations in the game.

We got really far, and then Sam got a spear through his head; we weren�t best pleased. Luckily we�d saved our game before that and the next time around we didn�t allow Samuel to �have a little peek� through the opening in the wall.; but then he fell down an abyss.

But alas, we finally finished our game at 2.30am and celebrated with a well-documented cup of tea.

In between playing Black Mirror we went to Tesco for provisions; the Student�s Union for a few drinks; and we ate plenty of the cuisine that Shaun has become accustomed to and thus famous for, since I have known him:

I had a brilliant time, it almost felt like I�d been on holiday when I got back. I managed to see quite a few people in Huddersfield as well, like Jay, Sarah, Guy, Patrick and Tim. It was nice to see everyone again and I�ve never been out for so many hot chocolates in such a small amount of time, in my life,. I must�ve put on a few pounds just in squirty cream.

But since I�ve been back I have turned 22. It was mine and Kate�s 22nd birthday on Monday (January 29th), which doesn�t mean much except that out Ids now seem even more fake. Due to poor time-management, we didn�t manage to book the day off so my only want for my birthday � a lie-in - didn�t happen, and we went to work. It was meant to be a happy day, though it didn�t feel that way as when I woke up my first reaction was to say �awww, crap� and roll over. Kate felt much the same as she cried in the car on the way in to work, distraught at the fact that she was now 22, working in Thorntons and had been awake since 6 o clock in the morning, on her birthday. She also cried when we were at work, as Kate and I were put on a line with all Polish people so we had no one to talk to but each other. She shouted, �But it�s my birthday!�. and then broke down; It was so sad to see her sobbing by the toffee sprinkler. I didn�t have such a dramatic reaction though, as so much recent heartbreak has made me numb inside.

Just kidding; I just wasn�t so fussed. I had a chair to sit on. SCORE! It�s always sad when the value of your day is based upon whether you have a chair to sit on or not.

Last week my friend Harold said �Oh but it�s ok today, I have a chair!� and when he looked at me and realised what he said, we almost had to hold ourselves back from throwing ourselves down the stairs. It was especially sad as I replied:

�oh imagine what it must be like to have your own desk�.

But anyway, to cheer up our dreary birthday, we decided to have a Chinese takeaway. I love Chinese and I get a bit worked up when it comes to getting my fair share of each tray of slop. I can get a bit possessive over my favourite dish and I got a bit pissed off at my uncle for eating so much. When I got a second wind and fancied another plate-full my favourite dish was all gone, and half a tub was piled up on his plate! But how do you tell your uncle off? It�s difficult, but decided to go the way of bemusement and slight anger/disgust. I bellowed, �Awww <.i>what? There�s no Sweet and Sour Pork left! It�s just sauce!.� And then to reiterate my point I went �Boooooooooooooooooooo!�.

Yes, that�s what a 22 year old would do. There. That showed him.

It was a nice Chinese meal though; what a treat. Though I must point out, it�s not such a treat for the millions of Chinese. They are lucky.

1:58 p.m. - 2007-02-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow