onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"So, examiner, what do you think to the justification of law-breaking?"

I had my second A-Level exam today. My first one was on Monday - English Language, and I can't believe it, but I actually ENJOYED it. That's right, you didn't read wrong, I enjoyed an exam. But I'm sure it'll be the first and last one, so don't worry I'm not going weird.

But today's exam was so boring. It was General Studies - the exam of all pointlessness. We did two 2 hour long exams in a row, it was excruciating.

The end question of each paper was an essay question and I always found myself getting really sarcastic or ironic by the end of these essays. One of them was about whether statistics are valid or not. I took the view of them not being. Here's a quote from my exam:

"There's not an advert out there that does not use statistics to 'prove' that their product is better than all of the others, and that 80% of the women who tried it recommended it to everyone and their cousin. So does this really mean that we can lose 5 inches off our waists in a day? No. Obviously the statistics have been manipulated. And so, this proves my point: the creams don't work, you have to exercise."

And then I ended it with "Believe me, I'm 99.9% sure". Hmm, does irony suit me?

I bet the examiners hate me. I wrote like I'm a pompus idiot, I added in about a zillion rhetorical questions and repeated them frequently, and wrote loads of sentences that I couldn't be bothered to finish, so they trailed off into something crap, eg. " law breaking cannot be justified because it cannot be justified".

Luckily General Studies isn't an important subject.

Tommorow's my first Sociology exam. Please send me some luck somehow. I'll pay for the stamp if you like.

5:13 p.m. - 2003-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow