onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some of this was ages ago and some of it is today.

I’ve just managed to watch two whole episodes in a row of Big Little Lies just now, and I am over the moon. I remember the days when I would binge watch a series of Criminal Minds, House (before it made me scared that I had every illness in it) or Spooks (only one series of that though as I had no idea what was going on in episode 1 of series 2, so called it quits when I realised early on that I had reached my intellectual peak. I have just compounded that sentence by needing spell check to help me to correct “interlectual”, good Lord). I will never take binge-watching a TV series for granted again now that I have Ruth, it is such a luxury these days. Not that I mind that I don’t do it much anymore, but it’s a real treat when it happens. Ruth has been napping for 2 hours and I have just checked that she is still breathing and she is, so I am back downstairs on cup of tea number 2, feeling pretty good about life.

My car has gone in for a service today so I am stranded and I like it, sometimes it’s nice to be grounded for the day as you don’t put any expectations on yourself to do anything. This morning Ruth and I went for a walk to the park, I let her walk quite a bit as she’s walking really well now and she fell over a lot and picked up a lot of stones. I stupidly thought she might walk nicely beside me but she did a lot of walking back the way we’d come or towards dogs.

I wrote that on Thursday and it’s now Saturday, Ruth slept for almost 3 hours that afternoon, I was beginning to get bored which is pretty rare as I tend to cram as much as I can into the blissful hours that I get to myself (mainly eating Soreen). Since Thursday Ruth has pooed on the doormat precisely once. You must think that she never wears a nappy but it was in the split second it took me to put her old nappy to one side to get a new one, then she started rubbing two stuffed toys over it to clean it up because Keith’s taught her how to dust. Anyway, apart from that disaster I have had a great few days, I have been to 2 play centres (one soft, one normal) and both myself and Ruth enjoyed them both thoroughly.

And now it’s Thursday 6th April, I have rolled over into the following month in one entry! I started this on 23th March, this is dire, I wonder if I will manage to finish this ever.

Kate, Kirsty and I have bought tickets to see Hanson in London in June. I will need to dust off my Hanson CDs and dare I say it… cassettes, and start figuring out the lyrics again. Given the amount of time that has passed since I have been an ‘active’ Hanson fan (regularly listening to their music, cutting out pictures of them for the wall, signing up to fan clubs and wearing Dr Martens), I still actually think of them on a semi regular basis – mainly when I mix up their birthdays with the birthdays of members of my family, and when I go to sleep with wet hair and wake up looking like Isaac circa 1997. Anyway. Making banners has been discussed.

Kirsty and Kate are coming down to visit tomorrow so I am naturally very excited indeed. I think a dinner reminiscent of our teenage years is probably in order (waffles, pizza, beans, some kind of shaped breaded chicken, and Coca Cola to wash it down), but I spoke to Kate earlier and she’s “trying to be healthy”, as am I, and Kirst is probably pretty sensible these days too, so we will probably end up eating adult food like a mushroom risotto with white wine. Moments like these make me wonder when I grew up, because I think I missed it. The other day I got a flat tyre and I had to speak to the garage, sort out Ruth who was crying in the car seat, and then let work know that I was going to be late. It felt like possibly the most stereotypically adult situation I have ever been in, all I needed to do was throw my arms in the air in an exaggerated manner and I could’ve been in a car insurance advert.

Keith and I got National Trust memberships for our first Christmas as parents as well, that’s something I never thought I’d want. I love a little wander and a cup of tea at a National Trust property now, it’s like I’ve discovered a whole new world of enjoyment in the last 15 months. Enjoyment that my parents have, that before now I never completely understood (eg. walking round the reservoir). But, parks! Now I love parks, castles, garden centres (well, I’ve always loved garden centres), aquariums, zoos, farms, soft play areas and big patches of grass. A few months ago it was just me and a few members of Keith’s family in a soft play area in Sudbury, so I went into the Kids Zone and went up and down the slide as many times as I could before it started to look weird. It felt incredible! I felt like I was 5 again and I remembered all the energy I used to have, and my love of racing about for no reason that must’ve laid dormant for about 24 years. I also like the excuse of going on swings with Ruth now too, because when you’re on your own you can only really get away with going on them if no-one else is in the park. With a toddler, you can go on the swings whenever you like, and you can even go on the big swings by yourself (the joy!). Once when I was finding it really tough when Ruth was tiny, I just cried on one of the swings in Clare Country Park and that was less fun, but thankfully now I’m really happy so there’s no need for you to worry.

Right, Ruth has been asleep now for 2 hours so I’m going to check on her (mainly because I’m hungry and she is delaying lunch). Also, if I don’t finish this now I will never finish it. I don’t want to be starting another paragraph below that says, “wow, that was 9 years ago! It’s 2026 now. I should probably tell you about the new hover-car I just bought”.

1:23 p.m. - 2017-04-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow