onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As I write this there is a whiff in the air.

Here I am again, another Thursday morning, another nap for Ruth and a cup of tea and a sit down for me. I’m starting to like this!

The last week has been a strange week. Keith’s friend Tom came to visit for the weekend, which was lovely. We didn’t do much, just had a walk around the park and in the evening had a takeaway and watched the boxing (I did some crochet), and on the Sunday it was rainy so we stayed in and let Ruth entertain us. Ruth started with a stomach virus on the Saturday morning though, and I have never seen anything like it. Actually, I tell a lie as she had the same thing in January, so I have seen something exactly like it, but I still wasn’t mentally prepared for how utterly disgusting it was. We’d be having a wonderful time and suddenly Ruth would fart and poo would explode out of her clothes like someone had just thrown a hand grenade of houmous and partially digested blueberries into the room. We now have a bucket in the back garden full of shitty clothes that we add to and occasionally stir with a stick. Keith has been a trooper and dealt with most of the washing, as I had to clean up most of the explosions on my own while he was at work, so it needed to be a team effort.

On Monday morning I made the ridiculous mistake of leaving Ruth nappy-less for 2 minutes while I washed my hands and she did a pile of diarrhoea on the carpet in the middle of some toys and I had to scoop it up with a toy spatula. So that has been the last 5 days really, mainly nice, with sporadic frantic intervals of having to scoop the contents of Ruth’s bowels off of various items of clothing, out of deep crevices of sleeping bags and from the fur of fluffy toys.

I was talking to Keith about this last night and we both admitted that we totally underestimated what it was like having a child and how deep you have to dig within yourself to get on with some of the not-so-nice bits. I think I thought that a hazy golden hue would descend on my life and it would be full of cuddles and single happy tears of joy sliding down my face and my world would smell of baby powder, but in all honestly at this stage it mainly just smells like poo. Don’t get me wrong, it’s wonderful and I am happy in my soul and to my bones, but boy did I underestimate the amount of poo I would be dealing with. On Tuesday I went to work and I had to take my cardigan off because it smelled so badly of poo, but I sniffed it all over and I couldn’t even find any on there! Moments like that are another tick in the box for working on my own.

Anyway, today has been a great day so far. Playing, reading, a walk to the park, swinging on the swings, feeding the ducks and then home.

I'm going to watch the next episode of the drama I'm not very bothered about now and have a plum.

11:28 a.m. - 2017-03-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow