onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've topped up the toilet roll basket to full capacity.

I have nothing to say today but thought I’d write in here anyway, just to make it a bit of a regular thing. I haven’t done a whole lot this morning which has been lovely. I had work on Tuesday and Wednesday so I quite like doing nothing on Thursdays and Fridays as it feels like a treat. I work in Haverhill in an office 2 days a week and I love it, I work on my own and it’s nice to be alone for a couple of days just to do adult things and use my brain in a different way. Working alone also means that egg sandwiches are back on the menu, as is fish and a casual attitude towards farting.

Ruth is having an early nap as she spent a good amount of time lolling about and lying on the floor and crying over not being able to pull two lego bricks apart, so was clearly tired. She gave us a lie-in this morning until 6.10am! It felt like a real treat, Keith and I had 8 and a half hours sleep last night and even woke up before Ruth did, (at 6.09). I just checked and the average adult sleeps for 7 hours a night, so I feel like a real winner (I will disregard the 13 months of broken sleep and bloodshot eyes before that). Every morning I like to count up how many hours of sleep we have had the night before and tell Keith how we should feel about it. Today we feel good.

As I’ve had some time to myself I have spent an hour doing all of the things that would’ve taken a whole weekend for me to do, back in my old life. Cleaning the bathroom, hanging clothes up, putting another wash on, washing up, cleaning the kitchen, taking the bin out and tidying the living room. Back when I lived in Ealing, I would’ve spent that hour half-heartedly cleaning my side of the bed (not even the whole bedroom!) whilst watching Keeping Up With The Kardashians and trying on all of the lipsticks I thought I’d lost but found again behind my bedside table. One time when we were moving out, I spent one of the mornings that I was supposed to be packing, having a nap next to the neighbour’s cat. I’d started inviting him in as he was the only one who would watch Pretty Little Liars with me and I still miss that cat.

I’m watching The Replacement on BBC iplayer now, the pregnant lady in it has some lovely maternity clothes. I always imagined that I’d look well put together throughout my pregnancy, but from about 30 weeks I was in jogging bottoms and flip flops with a face like a slapped arse most of the time. Oh my god, someone has just fallen off a building! Blimey. I’m still not sure about this programme though, as the music is telling me how I should feel a bit too much. A minute ago they had suspenseful music playing while someone was just quietly doing her work. I might do some crochet instead. I started crocheting a lot before Ruth was born and I’ve just got my wool out again. So far I have done around 5 minutes of crocheting in total and most of that time was spent searching for a tutorial on YouTube, so actual crochet time was around 1 minute. If I go at my usual speed Ruth will have a gorgeous 18-24 month sized cardigan by the time she’s 37.

She’s awake! I’ve just finished my cup of tea, which means this has been a successful naptime all round. It was a bit of a milky one but I wasn’t waiting around for it to brew under such pressing circumstances.

12:27 p.m. - 2017-03-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow