onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

That washing line is really taking a battering today.

Today I accidentally microwaved my cup of tea (for the second time) for three minutes while I read a magazine. I had no idea that you could make tea bubble like lava, it felt like a science experiment.

Storm Doris is here. I love inclement weather, I think it’s one of my favourite slightly less important things in life. It blew our letterbox open earlier and I got very excited and stood Ruth at the window to have a look at our slightly damp street. I hope that when Ruth grows up she also shares my passion for standing at the window and looking at stuff. My favourite thing to look out of the window at is probably snow. I am a fan of monitoring the size of snowflakes, whilst shouting to someone else in the room who is usually considerably less bothered (usually Keith), “oooh, it’s really coming down!”, “come and have a look at this!” and if it’s really good - “they’re the size of cornflakes!” (an accurate measurement)

We’ve stayed in today so far, battening down the hatches, and Ruth walked across the kitchen for the first time this morning, which was a major event. I’m so proud. She also turned the washing machine off half way through its cycle and tried to eat a stone. I’ve mainly been drinking tea and secretly eating biscuits in corners where Ruth can’t see me.

Ruth is napping now (I say that like it’s nothing, and it hasn’t taken a year to achieve), so I’ve been enjoying a bit of peace. Peace being quietly but frantically doing loads of housework until I think, “DON’T I DESERVE A BLOODY SIT DOWN AND A HOT CUP OF TEA?! I AM AN ACTUAL PERSON! I WILL NOT BE A SLAVE TO HOUSEWORK!” and other things like that, said in capital letters in my head. And usually by then I’m hoping Ruth doesn't hear the kettle and stays asleep long enough for me to get at least half way down my cup. Thankfully I have achieved this today, which is why I’m on my laptop as a bonus, “tap tapping” as my mum would say.

So as I’m here I thought I might as well pass on a bit of the wisdom I’ve learned since becoming a mum. There isn’t much of it to be honest. Firstly, I’ve discovered that it’s a lot quicker to get out of the house on time if you stop caring about the way you look. More importantly, I have found that if you wear slippers all day you can get two days out of one pair of socks. At the moment these are the only bits of wisdom I can think of, but I do think they’re worth passing on. In the last 14 months I think I have saved myself a day’s worth of time and at least 2 loads of washing.

Storm Doris is whirring through the baby monitor now. She’s really kicking off. She slammed doors this morning and scattered bits of paper about, so she’s basically me when I’m in a huff.

I’m now writing this in the evening as Ruth woke up and we had lunch (tuna mayo jacket potatoes and peas, a classic) and spent the afternoon indoors still as it was too blustery to go out (I stuck my head out of the bedroom window to check). Storm Doris really mucked up my (one) plan to go to Aldi to be honest, I was really looking forward to having one of their thick and creamy toffee yoghurts tonight. Thanks a lot Doris, because of you I ended up having a cup of tea as pudding.

Keith and I are in bed as I write this, we have agreed that we want to be asleep by 8.30pm so that we can have 9 hours’ sleep before Ruth wakes up. I would’ve thought this was pretty sad a few years ago but now it is just luxurious. A whole nine hours! I hope I don’t mess up this opportunity like I usually do by looking at Instagram, then realising I’ve just spent three hours that I could’ve been sleeping watching videos of a stranger trying out bath bombs.

Anyway, Keith’s annoyed now because he just tried to talk to me about football (which he doesn’t even really like), and I kept finishing his sentences. I’ll just have to find out myself if the manager of Leicester City got a payrise/bonus/appreciation (none of my suggestions, he was sacked). I’m off to sleep.

8:29 p.m. - 2017-02-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow