onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Real Bride.

I’m getting married!

I have had a bit of a hiatus on here, but I’m back and I'm engaged! Keith asked me to marry him when we were back in Jacksdale for my mum’s birthday in March last year and it was one of the happiest days of my life. I was genuinely shocked when he got down on one knee and asked me to be his wife, and I’m still amazed even now.

The wedding is just over two months away and the stress is creeping in a bit as it gets closer. There’s so much to do! Everyone pretends that wedding planning is a lovely experience but it’s basically giving yourself homework every night and weekend for around 12 months. Last week I stayed at work until 9pm for three nights in a row making an excel spreadsheet about flowers.

I’ve been reading wedding blogs quite a lot recently and I’m actually surprised that none of the women have said that they found wedding planning really boring. They all say things like, “I enjoyed every second!” and “I just really cherished this special time with my fiancé” and, “we decided early on that we’d make every decision together and it just worked”. No one mentions the arguments, or being upset for a whole day because all of the waistcoats in Moss Bros look like they belong to snooker players. When you talk about your wedding you have to leave out the fact that as soon as you got engaged you started weighing all your food and crying about your big thighs. And what about the time you threw the box of invitations against the wall and made your fiancé question your sanity? And the stress spots that taunt you because they never come to a head? No one talks about that side of it.

If I was in a wedding blog, so far it would say something like this.:

Emma and Keith got engaged on a chilly, sunny day in March last year. “As soon as we got engaged we were so excited, I had tears and snot running down my face for days!” bride-to-be Emma, 30, exclaims. “We knew we wanted our wedding to be pretty cheap, but when we looked at venues we realised that we would probably end up being taken for absolute mugs!” Thankfully after a few weeks of searching Emma and Keith finally found a budget-friendly venue that suited them down to the ground. “Our wedding planner was terrible”, Emma says with a smile, “she never called me back and kept forgetting what day my wedding was on!”.

When it came to decorations Emma couldn’t be bothered to do very much. “To be honest, I thought I’d want to do more than I did but I just ended up buying most of the stuff because I was lazy and it looked better than anything I could make myself”.

When it came to finding The Dress though, Emma was also very particular about what she wanted. “I bought a dress that was the exact opposite of what I thought I wanted”. Emma actually chose a dress 6 weeks after getting engaged. “I realised that I’d made a big mistake pretty early on after bringing it home. Everyone was really angry with me for wasting so much money and I had sleepless nights and cried all the time. It’s now hanging up at my mum’s house and though it’s a bone of contention I can’t be bothered to take pictures of it and put it on Ebay. We don’t talk about that dress anymore and I can barely look at it”. But finding her actual dress was everything she ever wanted. “Everyone was worried that I wouldn’t get a dress in time and make another mistake, and I was starting to hate myself. I went with my future mother in law to have a final look in the shops and I narrowed it down to two dresses in Wimbledon. When I finally decided on The One, we had a glass of champagne and I was so nervous when I paid the deposit that I couldn’t stop farting”.

Keith, 29, however enjoyed seeing his wife-to-be in her element whilst planning their big day, and revelled in seeing another side to the woman he loves. “She's been an absolute fucking nightmare.”

Apart from that (this is me talking now, not Pretend Wedding Blog), I am really, really excited. I keep looking at Keith and thinking, “you’re going to be my husband!” and looking at his family and thinking, “you’re going to be my family!” and I can’t wait to start my married life. Amidst all of the stress I know how lucky I am and I’m very thankful to have a lot of love and support and lovely people in my life. I know the reason we're doing this is to have a lasting marriage and not a perfect wedding (thankfully).

Anyway, today I was planning on wedding shoe shopping but I’ve been up since 4.30am for absolutely no reason, so I might just nap then go to the gym instead. I’m always one Snickers bar away from a double chin so I should probably start honing my diet and gym regime anyway. I keep following healthy Australians on Instagram and they tell me that if I “eat clean” my body will reward me, but I’ve been doing that for months now and I think my body’s just rewarding me with more arm fat. I had a cry to Keith about it yesterday and then for dinner I had steak, chips, red wine, Ben & Jerry’s and a whole Easter egg, so I don’t think he’ll be sympathising with me again for a while, sadly.

3:46 p.m. - 2015-03-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow