onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can I have 51 bits and 23 bobs please?

This week our office played the lottery twice. All instigated by me, as on Tuesday the Euromillions was up to �83million (which to be honest I could do with as I've got a holiday coming up); and then yesterday it was up to �107million. So I created an online account, gathered up everyone's �2s and bought a load of tickets.

It's amazing how much everyone's work ethic dwindles when they think they're soon to become millionaires. People would drop into the office and I'd give them the piece of paper I'd printed out with our numbers on, and we'd end up having discussions that would last from 10 to 20 minutes about what we would spend our millions on (I started worrying that at such short notice my loved-ones wouldn't be able to get time off work to celebrate). And within minutes of buying the tickets we'd started saying things like, "all this won't matter tomorrow", and, "this time tomorrow it will all be different, when I'm lying on my own private beach" (surely it takes longer than 24 hours to acquire land?).

But it paid off because we won. Kind of. We won �7.90; so we didn't even break even but we're still winners. I sent everyone a text this morning and it looks like the �7.90 will probably go towards cakes for the office. I considered us putting the money back into the pot to buy more tickets next week but to be honest that's the gambler's choice, and I fear I may be verging into the thus-far dormant territory occupied by my Norwegian granddad's genes, so cakes it is.

A little part of me really thought we'd win �107million though. I expect everyone feels like that our else they wouldn't play, but I'd already started thinking about what I was going to say to the papers after we'd all had our photo taken holding the massive cheque.

�10.7million! What are you going to spend it on?

"Bits and bobs"

Everyone has their own version of what bits and bobs is so I'd just leave the phrase hanging in the air, unexplained. It would be a real hoot.

10:18 a.m. - 2011-05-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow