onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

'Click to get your Sim a life'

It's been a while since I've written in here and in that time I've had 3 jobs. It's amazing what you can do when you put your mind to it. Thankfully this time none of them involved cleaning the co-op toilets and being ridiculed by old ladies.

I finished my job at the sports broadcasting place first, and went onto working on a programme called The Family for Channel 4 during the summer, and if I could marry a job I think that would be the job I'd marry. I loved it so much, the team was wonderful. They fully embraced my Thorntons chocolate factory tales and on the last night we even all indulged in a box of Classics.

Now I'm working on another programme called One Born Every Minute set in a maternity ward, which I also love. I've seen plenty of women's unsightly bits, but overall the outcome to all of that has been lovely. I'm there until Christmas when I will then be gracing the job centre with my presence once more, and hopefully spending some time back at home where the heating goes on and the batteries don't fall out of the remote control.

I have no money at the moment. You may wonder why I'm telling you this, and no it isn't a plea for a hand out, but it's the reason why I'm addicted to playing The Sims on my iPhone (and also the reason why my dinners are often toast). Since I need to cut down on social activities that require monetary funding, I've taken to playing games on my phone in the evenings, hence the Sims addiction. During down time on The Family I managed to create a small posse of dedicated Rock Band players, but now as single-player is a must, I've wonderfully recreated myself as a Sim.

I've slightly let my addiction go off the boil lately though as I explained to my sister last night after she'd first expressed a strong desire to get her Sim knocked up; as�my Sim life seems to be cutting slightly close to the bone these days. Firstly, she's poor - too poor to fix things in her house; secondly, in order for her to get a boyfriend I made her tell joke after joke to a Sim called Johnny, rendering my Sim faced with, "Johnny finds your Sim annoying now" which was a slap in the face in itself, but made me realise where both my Sim and the real life me have been going wrong all this time. Eventually she did a sexy dance and bagged her man.

So playing the Sim me is slightly depressing to say the least. However, I do like to branch out of the pixelated box sometimes and I made Sim Emma do something recently which I thought was brilliant. She can't afford to fix her fridge and therefore can't get any food to feed herself, so this was when I became a Sim genius (not thief). �I'd take her off to strangers houses in the middle of the night, make her barge in through the front door and "make a snack" in their kitchen. It's amazing how exhilarating this feels; especially for a Christian. Once the Sim me even successfully cooked a whole pork chop dinner before she "creeped out" another Sim.�

In all seriousness, I am slightly worried that I'll have to start using that technique in my real life soon, once it gets to job centre time again. However, until all the toasters in the world break, and all the pasta and all the cheese runs out, I think I might just scrape by. And even then there will still be crisps.

7:53 p.m. - 2010-11-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow