onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So, on my way back from junior school.

Last week I missed my bus home from work, so I nipped into Asda to buy something frivilous while I waited for the next one. The frivilous buy turned out this time to be a DVD (last time's frivilous buy was celery and hairspray. So I should probably say 'buys').

I headed to the self-checkout and scanned The Devil Wear's Prada (�3) and up popped a screen telling me I had to wait for assistance. So I flagged someone down to verify that I was old enough to buy it and to thusly send me on my merry way.

He came over. He looked at the DVD then looked at me, and started tapping the case in very patronising way, giving me a stern gaze. "I'm sorry. Did you see this is a 12?"

I attempted to register what he said in silence, then slowly and quietly asked, "err... what?"

He continued. "Did you think I was going to let you buy this? It's a 12."

WHAT? What he was implying finally dawned on me.

"You're IDing me for a TWELVE?!"

He thought I was at best eleven years old! I knew I shouldn't have wrapped myself up so cosily in my big winter coat.

"I'm twenty four! I just came from work!"

I was horrified. Though luckily he declined my offer of whipping out my driver's licence and decided the best course of action was to avoid my gaze for the rest of our transaction.

So now I can't even make up my as to whether I'm proud or disgusted. At least when I'm 40, by this man's deluded estimations I'll look 28 and I am also wondering if it's possibly the effects of the frivilous (and unnecessary) buy of February '09 - anti-wrinkle cream - the product of bus mistake #2 in "The Big Book Of Public Transport Mishaps": getting off the bus at the wrong stop.*

But on that note, it looks like I should get to bed as it's past my bedtime; and of course, I have to be well rested for work tomorrow:

Photobucket

* I rang the bell 2 stops too soon, due to eagerly looking around the vicinity as the bus was stopping and realising I would be the only person leaving the bus at that time, felt morally obliged to get off anyway.

9:54 p.m. - 2009-03-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow