onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Part 1

London was a success. Kind of. It was successful in that i found a place to live. Though to be honest, it wasn�t the best weekend I�ve ever had and now I know why finding a house is one of the most stressful things you can do.

I�d planned to see five houses. FIVE. I actually saw one and a half.
The first one I place was in Borehamwood (actually Hertfordshire so not strictly London at all) and a 15 minute walk to the Big Brother house. That�s the one I took. I�ll be living with a girl called Gemma, who I liked straight away and who has already introduced me to the new experience of tea with soya milk.

It took me so long to get to the flat though because of weekend track-work, by the time I�d spent my second hour on the tube I was beginning to lose the will to live and was really hoping this place was The One. I must�ve visited just about every stop on the Northern line at least twice before I made it to Elstree and Borehamwood and I still ended up needing a lift. So by the time I�d had a look round and a cup of tea, the house owned by the scary sounding man in Kentish Town had been rented out and I�d missed the viewing at the prison in Islington with my friend Sophie.

So that was Day One of House Search over.

Day Two, and I cancelled viewing a 3 bedroom place because I couldn�t find the tube stop on the map, or the street name in the A-Z (conclusion: drugs den). And then Sophie cancelled another viewing because it wasn�t in the right area and we were a bit stuck. So we met up for a coffee and decided to ring an agent up on a whim and that was how we managed the �half� viewing.

The landlord forgot the keys! We went all the way to High Barnet, got in a strange man�s car with two mysterious silent girls, got all the way to the crummy flat only to be told we�d have to peer through the net curtains and press our faces up against the letterbox.

Then after exclaiming how nice the floor looked and �oh yes, I can just about see the bottom of the kitchen door there... do you have lino down?� we stood on the pavement and gazed around a bit. The so-called landlord t hen said, �the transport system is very good here... only 10 minutes to Borehamwood! The nearest bus stop is over there� he points, �so if you don�t mind... � and he gestures for us to get walking up the street.

He made us get the bus home!

What if we�d had no money?

I told my mum about this when I got back and she got practically hysterical, saying, �your Dad and I are horrified... horrified, that you got into a car with a strange man!� What? It�s ok, he didn�t offer me sweets!

I shouldn�t have told her so many of the details though, and I do very much regret not leaving out the part about the two miserable-looking girls in my re-telling of this story, as mum is now absolutely convinced that they were prostitutes and we�d in fact got into the car with a pimp.

6:33 p.m. - 2008-03-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow