onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

'Reasonable price, all inclusive single room. Very secure.'

The London house-hunt is in full swing.

I've been scouring those websites like a madwomen, checking out anywhere within a reasonable price range and though I've seen some places I like, there have also been adverts which really didn't fill me with much confidence at all. For example; here's an advert I contacted purely for the location of the room and not the landlord's linguistic ability or flare for promotion:

"double room in NW5, 5 minutes from tub"

Tub? No capital letters and not even a full stop at the end of the sentence. I'm writing this from memory, so he probably didn't even put that comma in there.

So from just this alone, I have visions of this landlord being an unshaven heavy-set man in an ill-fitting suit, sitting in an internet cafe. He was probably interrupted whilst typing, obviously advertising some corrupt rooms where the tenants will be made to grow weed/store cocaine/ sell their bodies. I rang him anyway.

He did actually sound a bit shifty and like he might've been in a pub. When I told him I was enquiring about a room his response was, "...oh". Though despite all this subtle dodginess I'm viewing an apartment at the weekend. Hope I don't get raped!

Anyway, back to the internet search and yesterday I saw an advert which I thought was absolutely brilliant, I almost rang them just to ask to be their friend.

"Nice double room in good location with all mod cons and a fridge 5 minutes from Kings Cross".

A fridge 5 minutes from Kings Cross? That's a hell of a way to go to get a glass of milk!

My mum loved that one.

This morning's find has to be my favourite so far though. I found somewhere that looked pretty decent and legit, so clicked on the map to see where it was and to do the usual check for the nearest tube station/ amenities/ the distance from Camden, stuff like that.

This is what I got:

Photobucket

Look closely...

Photobucket

Holloway prison?

I'm viewing it on Saturday.

12:53 p.m. - 2008-03-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow