onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pass me the Toilet Duck.

I just got back from an interview in a car park. No, it wasn�t with or to be a drug dealer, it was for a job as a cleaner at the Co-op. Three hours a day, 6am til 9am, Monday to Saturday and it�s five minutes away if I power walk it. You see, I don�t mind getting my hands dirty for a few hours every morning, if it gains me some dosh for London as well as giving me the rest of the day to squander at my leisure.

So I dragged myself out of bed at 6 o clock this morning, wondering what the appropriate attire is for a job interview in a car park; though eventually went for a long sleeved top, a pair of jeans, puffy eyes and stripy pillow face. My mum was awake early too because she couldn�t sleep for worrying that I�d got myself inadvertently involved in the sex trade, so she decided to take me in her car so that she could spend the journey telling me how weird it was and to be cautious.

When we got there mum really was worried; she turned to me and said, all serious, �Right, I�ll be on guard to block the entrance if they try to kidnap you�. I said, �What the hell, mum?� and she looked all annoyed and said, �Well! If someone told you they had an interview at 7 in the morning, in a car park and they got kidnapped, you�d think, �well, it's no wonder!� wouldn�t you?�

Would you? Would you really? To be honest, I don�t imagine I�d think it was to be expected.

I got out and I told my mum not to worry and that I�d be vigilant to any signs that the advertised job of cleaning the Co-op toilets was actually code for �become absorbed into Codnor�s prostitution underworld" and got into the car of a nice woman called Nicole.

Nicole told me a few details of the job and I filled in some forms and plastered them up at the car window so my mum could see they were legit, whilst Nicole stood outside having a cigarette. She then got back in the car, told me my hours, gave me a chocolate lime sweet (I don�t think it was laced with drugs) and said I could start whenever I wanted. So I�m starting on Wednesday morning.

I came home with all my documents and my dad asked how it�d gone as he�d been a bit concerned about the location - the same as my mum - but a bit less because, well, he�s not like my mum (he doesn�t make lists and sometimes has a tache). I told him it was fine, I know what I�m doing and it�s nothing I can�t handle � �My first client is Brian who likes to be tied up and requests I wear fishnet stockings!�

He was highly amused, though when I told him in a jokey fashion about mum considering getaway strategies, he said, �Ah, well Emma, there�s still a white slave trade out there...�

Possibly. Though somehow I don�t think they'd advertise on the Job Centre Plus website.

Anyway; on a different note, I like these now:

The Jonas Brothers. They look a bit like the Disney version of The View (minus that blonde one).

PhotobucketPhotobucket

9:10 a.m. - 2008-02-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow