onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bed

I might go to bed early tonight - just to see what it feels like.

Even though it brings on the horror that is another day at Thorntons, earlier, it will also mean that I might be able to get up and out to work on time in the morning.

I hate getting up now. Sometimes when I do I pretend I'm still asleep and I keep my eyes closed when my alarm goes off and I sit up in bed. Though my usual trick is, after getting out of bed I like to keep one eye closed and therefore convince myself that the side of my body that the closed eye is on, is still asleep. It's not particularly practical but it's mildly comforting until you realise you can't spend your whole day doing that.

I'm usually late though, but surprisingly it stems from too much dilly-dallying, trying to convince myself that I'm not actually getting up, or general inactivity and staring whilst sitting in front of my radiator.

Anyway, this morning I was late again, which meant I had to sit in the back seat for the drive into work. I used to get the front seat all the time, but since coming back after Christmas Kate seems to get it every single morning. Whereas I used to be all "ha ha! I'm the winner!" with a smug grin, Kate likes to act all high and mighty and down right snotty towards me when she's in the front. She turns round to me and says things like "how come I'm in the front when I only got up 15 minutes ago!?" and "when you're late Emma, you have to miss things out of your routine, you can't just expect everyone to wait for you all the time". And then she turns back to the front with her nose in the air and fiddles with the radio because she can.

It's stupid though. Kate and I always argue about sitting in the front seat now. When we were younger we didn't even care, but now we're almost 22 we push and shove each other on the drive all the time. I've still got a scar on my leg from the friction burn I gained during one of those fights a few weeks ago.

But yes, as I was saying, I think I'll go to sleep early tonight and it might even do me some good; I'm not a big fan of staying up anymore anyway.

When I was little I used to think that staying up late was amazing because you got to eat crisps. When you were in bed you weren't allowed crisps or anything like that; not even one custard cream. And just look at me now! Tucking into bags of cashew nuts and pieces of cake after half past eight - doing the the things I used to dream of, literally, as I wasn't allowed to get up.

Last night I dreamt I had a lie-in.

8:28 p.m. - 2007-01-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow