onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The search for galactic nebulae has always been one of the most challenging types of visual observation, you see.

Sorry for the giant gap in entries. Nothing recently has sparked a need to write, despite having actually done things with my time.

Work's going well, I suppose. As well as a job like mine can go. I'm surviving and it's easy and sometimes the day goes quickly if I'm putting almonds on top of marzipan chocolates for the whole of it. Sometimes I get talking to the women I'm working with which is nice, but actually the conversation seems to be a bit limited at times. You'd think we'd have some amazing conversations as we're only using a few brain cells to fulfill our jobs, so you'd think the other millions of brain cells could think up some exciting conversation topics. But it appears they don't. So sometimes spend a lot of time just staring into space.

Though, saying that, the main topics of conversation are Weight Watchers, people who live on the same street as me or thereabouts, and what I'm having for my tea. As soon as it hits 4 o' clock and there's only 45 minutes �til we can go home, the "what are you having for tea?" question always pop up, like it's obligatory. And everyone eats baked potatoes for their tea.

This is definitely not what I envisioned for my life. Actually what I envisioned is impossible anyway, as my first ever ambition at the age of 5 or 6 was to go back in time and be the first person to eat an orange. I didn't want credit for inventing the first ever time machine though; I just wanted the credit for eating a Satsuma and shouting to the crowd of millions that it tastes nice. Then I saw myself throwing oranges into the crowd. And failing that, I wanted to invent a new primary colour.

I told my mum about these things yesterday and she started wondering what the hell she had spawned. She said "why didn't you just want to be a nurse, like all the other girls?". I probably did, but it was further down my list, behind learning how to breathe under water and creating a new type of fire.

It�d weird how different my life is at 21; from the person I thought I�d be when I was younger. Firstly, I thought I�d have kissed more boys by now and had more boyfriends; I thought that as soon as I reached 16 I�d be inundated with offers to be the boys� girlfriend but it was a bit of a drought if I remember. Obviously I imagined that I�d be better looking. I never thought I�d have a sweeping fringe again and wear flares though, not even for a joke; and I didn�t think I�d like gherkins or olives or be able to put eyeliner on successfully, so maybe that makes up for my other failings. I thought I�d have met and/or married one of Hanson by now though. It�s a shame, that one. I�m sure Kirst agrees as I promised she could be a bridesmaid so could get it on with Isaac at the reception.

Anyway, speaking of receptions, I went to a wedding yesterday. It made me want to get married or maybe just wear a wedding gown for a day. It also made me think that when I get married I want my husband to bawl his eyes out when I walk down the aisle, but I don't really know why I want that. We didn�t seem to know anyone at the wedding though, but the bride is apparently a distant cousin of my mum's. Dad said we should go because they paid for our meals and because he occasionally saw the bride in Selston gym. So we went and it was lovely.

For the meal I sat next to a woman who talked through all of the speeches and talked to me about members of her family as if I knew them. She talked like Huddersfield University is close to Newcastle University and her granddaughter and me had something in common, which we didn�t. Especially as I'm not at uni anymore and she was doing architecture. But I nodded politely and talked about how long the course is: "about 5 years isn't it?". I seem to be good at pretending I know about stuff I don�t. Yep. Just ask me about astrophysics; I seem to know a lot about that.

4:10 p.m. - 2006-09-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow