onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Art of the Chocolatier

Kate and I finally got jobs. Good old Thorntons took us back. We�re in the Egg Room now, where they manufacture the Easter eggs; it�s pretty chocolaty stuff. We�ve managed to make quite a diverse group of friends � all temps like us, and we sit together at breaks and eat canteen soup and talk about hairnets and occasionally, shoe covers.

One girl, Danielle, is someone I�ve been spending a lot of my time with these past 2 days. At first I thought I�d like her, then I met her and decided I wouldn�t, then I got to know her and realised I do. She makes me laugh, she�s so blunt in everything she says and has perfected her factory shouting voice to a T; I can always hear her. Today she told me how at the factory she worked at last they had to pack tampons; she said �We had a race once and I was the second fastest Lil-letter there�. I laughed for bloody ages.

Danielle also told me that when she first saw me on induction day she thought I was a bitch. A bitch and a slag apparently, because I was laughing with Kate so she thought I was going to be a bit of a dosser and was probably laughing at her. I had no idea I gave off that impression; most people think I�m a nice girl. She told me that she�s glad she was wrong though and I�m actually �posh and a goody-two-shoes�, which I suppose it better. Maybe I should tone down my eyeliner though.

Today Kate was checking lolly sticks and I was making bases for chocolate boxes for 9 hours and my job was one of those jobs where you think �this is a bit easy! I hope no-one notices�, one of those jobs you would have jumped at the chance of doing when you were at school and it meant missing French or going into dinner first. Interspersed with the mind-numbing folding I�d been doing, I had a few highlights like eating as many chocolates as I liked and finding out one of my friends was also singing �Oh Come All Ye Faithful� in her head, like me.

Anyway, Kate and I are having a decent time, though it seems Kate more than me as whenever I look across the belt she is deliriously happy, frantically waving and is constantly giving me the thumbs up.

And speaking of thumbs up�


'Sausage Thumbs returns to work'

9:20 p.m. - 2006-08-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow