onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy camping

I came back from camping on Saturday; I absolutely loved it. I went to a week-long Christian conference called New Wine (the Northern version) where I looked after babies. I was in a group called Gems and looked after babies from a few months to a year old every morning; I enjoyed it so much. And when I wasn�t doing that I was hanging around with my new friends, going to the evening worship or tripping over one man tents on my way to the portaloos.

I made some of the best friends I�ll ever meet. From my baby group I already knew Amy because we met last year when we worked there, so we got to catch up again. But I did amazingly well in the friends stakes, especially as on the Friday I got to the camp I�d decided that I didn�t need any more friends.

I met Hannah in Gems and through going for breakfast, lunch and tea with her; I met her 2 sisters Jess and Elly, her boyfriend Mike and friend Mark. And I realised that I always have room for more friends. And I�m especially grateful for Mark this week, as he made the effort to talk to me when I wasn�t bothered about talking to anyone and had decided that I had definitely reached my friend limit. We got on really well and he really helped me with my faith. I can�t thank him enough for that, though I hope he is highly rewarded when he gets to Heaven. Philippians 1:3 (I got that from a postcard).

Though since getting back I have been on somewhat of a downer. I keep wishing I was back at New Wine and when I go to sleep I now like to pretend I�m in a tent; I even imagine my pillow�s a little bit damp for that extra bit of authenticity. And I wish I were eating all of my rationed meals with my friends in the food hall, getting scraps of cheese on bread for tea and only drinking small cups of water to quench my thirst. I fell in love with all of that stuff. It was New Wine and I was happy; genuinely happy, for the first time since Tim and I broke-up.

And now I�m home and it�s all different; and even though I love running water, close-by toilets, a solid roof and electric plugs, I�d go back to New Wine in a heartbeat. Though there was only a thin sheet of material separating Kate and me at night, camping was actually a good experience. I liked diving into my little zip-up room at night and being able to talk to Kate through the wall. We talked about bot flies one night, it was brilliant.

But anyway, since coming back I have done nothing and job application forms seem to be having the same affect on me as writing my dissertation did, so I�ve been watching a lot of TV and napping to avoid doing them. I hope I get a job soon though, I�m so bored. I�m even considering going to the churchyard and clipping back some bushes today. Where did that idea even come from? I�ve never had green fingers before. I�ve never had green anything.

Oh, apart from that time I dyed my fringe green with some mousse when I was about 9. Ha! I have a fringe story for every occasion.

2:05 p.m. - 2006-08-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow