onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A giant update of small events (plus photos)


Apologies for the huge gap in entries. I've had an emotionally mixed few weeks. Doesn't that sound intriguing?

First of all, I got my degree results: I got a 2:1 and was very pleased indeed (hurrah!). I went out with my friends on the night to celebrate and much fun was had, as demonstrated here by the obligatory �going out� photos of attempted saucy poses/ knocking back shots whilst linking arms:

It was a great night and I laughed my head off quite a bit (as you can probably tell). Sometimes there's nothing better than sitting in a dimly lit room with your friends (and a few sticks of vodka shots), I felt so lucky to know everyone there.

Though unfortunately, when I got home the mood completely changed as I nearly broke up with Tim. I could go into it, but I won't. He had been enjoying his own festivities elsewhere with his friends and I wanted him to meet me and join me for once. And he didn't.

Basically, to cut a long, boring and over-told story short, I was feeling neglected, under-valued and completely rubbish. But it took 3 days of crying, staring into space and watching the odd DVD in bed and I finally came to the decision of giving Tim another (final) chance with me.

So I have been a bit drained and mopey for the last week or so and haven't wanted to update in case I went into a rant or spiralled into self-pity. As we all know, with either of these things, the written down kind is the worst. It means that when it's over and done with you can read over it, usually leading you to either a) re-live the experience/ emotions and feel like crap all over again (never good); or, more commonly, b) feel like a complete fool and possibly a little bit ashamed of yourself (find evidence of this here). And quite often you have to apologise for it afterwards as well, which also takes the shine off.

But anyway, luckily for all involved everything's ok now and I can go back to being chirpy and chipper again.

Phew. I think we're all pleased about that one.

However, despite being in the quiet depths of my inner turmoil, I have managed to meet up with a few friends in the past 2 weeks. Firstly, Kirst, who Kate and I went to see two Sundays ago. We had a lovely time and you could tell it was going to be good because the fun actually started on the train. I know, �how did you manage to make that fun?� I hear you say.

I was reading a book called Nice Cup of Tea and a Sit Down which is about the often over-looked but much enjoyed subject of drinking tea, eating biscuits and sitting down. The book includes many life-sized photos of the biscuits featured in its chapters, and with a 2 hour stretch on a train ahead of us, this provoked many photos of me and Kate pretending these pictures were real:

I do love those Jammy Dodgers.

Kate enjoying a handful of Party Rings.

Biscuitfest continued with me and some chocolate covered digestives.

As you can tell, we were quite resourceful though left slightly hungry for biscuits after the journey. And when we met Kirsty she loved the concept of pretending pictures were the real thing (I once cut the photo of a hairdryer out from the box my hairdryer came in and pretended to blow-dry my hair with it in front of the web cam. Genius), so as a consequence, we got thinking of what else we could do.

Hence, the photos of us pretending the front cover of Kirsty�s book on birth, is a real baby.


Kirst having a lovely time burping the baby book.

We had a brilliant time and laughed a lot. It was just like when we were younger and we even did our age-old tradition of reading out our old entries that we used to write in Kirsty�s paper diaries, from ages 14-17, in squealy, excitable voices in order to embarrass ourselves. That will never get old. Back then everything was �soooooo� cool or �sooooo� boring, nothing was just normal enough for the regular amount of vowels in my words. Oh no. Noooooo waaaaay.

And then, if that wasn�t enough, I went to visit Hol in Sheffield. It was as though we�d never been apart as well, it was fantastic. We caught up on all the gossip and had something to eat (the best chicken Taco ever) and watched the England match at the Student�s Union. There was a boy sat behind us analysing the game throughout, talking as if he was better than all of the players, who completely annoyed me and Hol, and then to top it off, when England scored he threw his beer up in the air and it showered only me and Holly. Typical. If we had been the type of people to shout at someone we didn�t know, we would�ve shouted at him. Maybe that was nature telling us to start doing that, though we just gave him sly dirty looks instead.

But seeing Holly was just what I needed after not seeing her for over a year and suffering a bit of a Holly famine. And the day was even topped off by a lucky gamble with the vending machines at Sheffield train station, when we put in 50p and came out with three Peanut Kit Kat Chunkies. Someone was definitely smiling down on us at that moment in time.

But anyway, speeding on a few days and I�m at home now, after about a million hours packing. So Uni is officially officially over, not only have I left university, but I have left Huddersfield.

It�s pretty sad but it hasn�t sunk in yet. I don�t think I want it to or else I might start panicking that I�m an adult and I�m not sure how I got here. I�ll be coming back to Huddersfield though. Of course I will. I�ve made promises all over the place. I was a bit willy nilly about that.

I think you may have sufficiently caught up with the goings on in my life now. Though to finish off with a bit of news: I am on the road to getting my brace done (a very scary prospect being 21). I had to go to the orthodontist a few days ago and I�m now sporting 4 elastic bands in between my top back teeth, which are pushing my teeth apart so that they can then fix a �contraption� to it.

My teeth hurt like hell now and I can�t really stop complaining about that fact.

Yesterday, Tim made the mistake of saying �God, they�re only elastic bands!� and I offered to put elastic bands in between his teeth and see how he felt about it. He declined, like I knew he would, and left me to carry on screaming my way through a bag of Peanut M&Ms.

11:00 p.m. - 2006-06-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow