onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

everything else is fun, but this.


Once again I am writing in here because I have work to do and the prospect of doing it is rather depressing.

Everything seems more interesting than either writing essays or revising until you actually have nothing to do, and then you can�t think of anything at all to entertain yourself with. I have decided to write lists of things that interest me at the moment, entirely due to the fact that they�re not what I�m supposed to be doing. At the moment my (rather stunted) list consists of:

� baking
� knitting/ crochet (I have made a rather beautiful, 10cm by 10 cm purple square)

Now I can tell that from this you are thinking that I am trying to assume the identity of a 60 year old woman, however occasionally colouring in seems like a compelling pastime, so that balances out the whole old person/ young person equation somewhat (though saying that, I haven�t actually done any colouring in or bought myself a colouring book since I was about 9, because if I did, at 21, it would prove that I am in fact mental).

Today I think I insulted the man in the charity shop because I insisted on buying a book for 20p instead of 10p. He said �no, don�t do that. We�re not that poor� and I felt more embarrassed than he did. I tried to explain that I wasn�t saying he was poor, but I wanted to pay more because I felt the book was worth it. Eventually I just wouldn�t take my change and said �IT�S JUST 10p!� and he backed down due to the sheer volume of my voice.

I don�t understand how in a charity shop they refuse to take my charity even when it wasn�t genuine and was, in fact, to make myself feel better because at 10p per book, it felt like stealing. I bought a book called The Promise of Happiness because on the first page the main character talks about having a wee outside, which I thought was a pretty unusual opening to a book - therefore it must be fantastic. Plus Richard and Judy, in their cozy book club in TV-land, recommended it (as it said on the front cover), so I am trusting that they won�t let me down.

I also went to Tesco today and bought some coloured biros in an attempt to encourage myself to do some revision and to sex up my revision cards a bit by making them colourful. Not that I have revision cards - at the moment they are entirely hypothetical, but hopefully when I do get round to making them, they will be pretty colourful.

On ending our mini shopping trip today, Tim and I went into Boots. I was completely mortified when, whilst looking for some face powder, we weaved through a crowd of people, looking for the brand I wanted. Spotting the right aisle, Tim - in the midst of the good mood he was experiencing- enthuiastically shouted over to me,

�Here it is, mucky bum!�

Oh God. Of course he couldn't just call me Emma.

12:55 a.m. - 2006-04-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow