onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am crapper than before

It seems my thoughts about not being able to get any more stupid, have been exceeded today. Yes, I come bearing embarrassing stories. And what�s more, minidisk player-related embarrassing stories.

Today was the very exciting day of interviewing Donal MacIntrye, the most famous undercover journalist in the world, over the phone. So I phoned him and he sounded lovely, really friendly. He said �Ah Emma, how�s it going?� and I liked him immediately.

He answered my questions whilst making himself a cup of coffee and I was sat in my tutor�s office with my minidisk recorder and microphone, feeling very proud of myself indeed for getting Donal MacIntyre in my dissertation.

After my interview was over and I said bye, I was so excited about having spoken to Donal MacIntyre, I unplugged the minidisk recorder straight away and phoned my dad to brag a bit and receive some praise. My dad said, �Oh brilliant! Did you remember to press record this time?�

We both laugh.

�Yep! It went really smoothly, I did everything perfectly! I�ll play some of it back for you��

*presses �play� on minidisk player*

*silence*.

�Oh my God, Oh my God��

*fiddles around with it again*

*silence*

�Oh my God, oh my God. It didn�t record. it DIDN�T RECORD!�

*bangs head on desk*

That's right, I am living proof that pride does come before a fall. I was so self-satisfied and excited that I unplugged the minidisk recorder before it had time to write any of my interview to the disk, so was left with absolutely nothing.

You'd think I'd be used to this by now, but I'm not.

Oh how I cried. I cried so much that Rob didn�t know what to do with himself when he came in the office and found me in a state of hot, sweaty panic. After crying on the phone to my dad and frantically pressing �play�, we turned the recorder upside down and examined its every detail. Nothing. Nothing was going to bring that interview back. And do you know why? Because I�m stupid, that�s why.

My dad phoned back later and said, �It was a mistake - you�re new to the technology.�

Well, let�s be realistic here. That�s not entirely true and we all know it.

�Dad, I�ve made this mistake FIVE times in FOUR interviews! It�s not the technology!�

I�ve never felt more stupid. It was one of those moments where you think �oh come on. There�s got to be some way I can turn back the clock�. I ended up swallowing my pride (though it was miniscule by that point, so wasn't hard to swallow) and phoning Mr MacIntyre up again.

�Hi Donal. It�s Emma again. I�m really sorry but I made a mistake with the minidisk player and�.�

�No probs, well how about you phone me at about 2 on Monday and we do it again?�

*stunned silence*

�Just send me a text before because I�ll probably forget, and we�ll do it again, is that ok?�

What a wonderful person.

Through doing my dissertation, it seems I have somehow managed to find the two nicest men in the world. First Jeff, letting me phone him back four times in the space of one interview, and now Donal MacIntyre offering to do his entire interview again. I have restored faith in human kind, I really do.

I went to tell Rob the good news, after he went back to the edit suite. It turned out he�d told everyone in the edit suite exactly what I had just done, making me feel a bigger fool. Rob did give me some �clair sweets to ease my pain though.

My practical project group was editing some of the stuff we filmed yesterday and Sarah was doing a few voiceovers in the mic. As no one told me and Rob that they were recording, there is a small conversation recorded of Rob talking to me about my mini disk player, and then - as if my mood couldn't get any lower:

�CAN I HAVE ANOTHER �CLAIR PLEATHE?�

11:59 p.m. - 2006-03-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow