onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am crap.


Well, this week so far (and it's only Wednesday), I've done 2 interviews for my dissertation. I'm so impressed with myself and I even transcribed them.

I really like one of my contacts because he's been really helpful and he also didn't act like I was a complete nob when I so blatently was, in my interview with him. It was a phone interview and it went like this (seriously):

Me: Hi Jeff, are you ready for your interview?

Him: Yep! Let's go for it.

Me: Ok, let me just figure out this mini disk player. One second...

*messes about trying to put mini disk player on*

Me: I'm really sorry but it's not working, can I call you back when I've got it going?

*hangs up and gets a new mini disk player*

*phones Jeff back*

Me: Hi Jeff, ok I'm ready now. I'll just put the speakerphone on.

*faffs about with the speaker phone button, which doesn't work*

Me: Sorry about this. Do you know how to work a speaker phone by any chance?

Him: Well it depends what phone you're on...

Me: I'm sorry, can I phone you back? I don't know how to work it.

*hangs up again and gets the tutor to come in and phone his mum to try the speakerphone out*

*phones Jeff back*

Me: Sorry about that. Ok, I'm ready now. Ok, question one...

*ten minutes and five enthusiastically and perfectly answered questions later*

*looks over at mini disk recorder*

Me: Oh no. Oh God, I don't think I pressed record. Oh no, I'm so stupid. Can I see if I've recorded anything and phone you back?

Jeff: Oh for fuck's sake Emma.

(he didn't really say that, though he should've)

Real answer: Yeah, sure, no problem.

*I hang up, smack my head on the desk then shout to my tutor that it's not recorded. I race to the technician who already thinks I'm a complete idiot for not knowing that the mini disk recorder had no batteries in, who just says "press 'record' again"*

*presses record again*

*phones Jeff back*

Me: Hi Jeff, I'm sorry about that. I've never used this particular recorder before....

*Jeff answers 12 questions brilliantly while I sit there and wish I could die*

How could you admire someone who puts up with that and is nice about it as well? What a man.

Anyway, what a day. What an amazing day.

I walked all the way home with my head down, looking at the floor. And when I got back I was dreading listening to the disk so that I could transcribe it but I did it as soon as I got in, to get it over and done with. And MY GOD, I have the worst lisp ever, and after everything Jeff says I go "errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr....." really loudly into the mic, then read out another question, badly and in a manish way:

Me: "errrrrrrrrrrrr....What thpethific thkillth and attributeth determine what makesth a good undercover journalitht?"

Oh Lord

12:29 a.m. - 2006-02-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow