onlyemma's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my loner-no friends day


Today I practiced not only 1, but 2 life skills.

number 1: independence
number 2: motivation.

I went swimming - all by myself!

After spending a good few hours begging anyone with a swimming costume to go with me, I decided to go swimming on my own. After a few minutes in the pool I was the only one in there; it was very relaxing to be on my own, but I worried that if I went into the steam room it would look like the towel and inhaler left at the side of the pool were lost property (admittedly a geek's lost property), and would get taken away.

I manage to worry about anything.

Being by myself, I was also aware that I am no good at any kind of swimming stroke, but managed to distract myself by floating about on my back trying to figure out who the murderer is in the book I'm reading at the moment.

It's funny, having no-one to talk to. I thought I'd get to have a good think about my life and my future - the fact that I have no idea what I'm doing with my life past next weekend; however, bobbing about in the pool my mind was...well, blank. I thought of absolutely nothing of any significance and started getting bored, so after half an hour in there I began thinking about how my trip to the swimming baths would be described in a book.

"As Emma floated in the pool, feeling the heavy pull of the deep water around her, she stared at the murky, grey sky outside the window. It was raining and she sighed."

That's as far as I got because after that it felt less romantic to describe staring at the back end of the takeaway.

When I got home Vicki wasn't back from her trip home so I had to eat my corned beef sandwich alone in the kitchen. I watched some of a terrible film that I hope no one else has to suffer, called Mrs 'arris in Paris which really lowered my opinion of Angela Landsbury, who played a cockney woman.

From what I gathered from the 15 agonising minutes I endured whilst making and eating my sandwich, all she did was go around Paris being an old biddy; saying lots of slang English words that the French didn't get, like "coppers" for copper coins, "well blow me down with a feather� and "did you ever play �opscotch when you was a kid?�.

*sighs* I have no words to describe how dire it was.

I think I'll have to go back home soon after the graduation ball, due to lack of funds; I can't live off my overdraft forever. I told Tim this the other day and he said, "I heard that there's a job going that you could do."

"Really?"

"Yeah, I think the job description said it involves taking a ring... to a place called Mordor"

That boy loves to pretend that I'm from the Shire.

"it's Nottinghamshire."

10:29 p.m. - 2006-05-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
joistmonkey
grindangel
cera-jeanne
lifeineminor
persaud-land
wyndspirit
shot-of-tea
shinynewtoy
danielfox118
toiletwater
student-bum
randomrabbit
uber-shaker
theswordsman
flufflebunny
avanery
strawberrri
biggrin
anibananie
clairecav
the-moo
borntotryem
kate-lee
sarahchiv
sexylou
onesweetyear
mragreeable
scooby-gang
zanks
silly-moose
shylozzaah
shell2002
carpediemgem
boy1daful
mrh4ppy
lilkate
onlyinpink
joethebrave
blujeans-uk
buffylass
mindoverflow